Wednesday, 8 December 2021, 9:00am-1:30pm			
	Conference begins	Chair	
9.00am- 9:30pm	Session 1.1 Formal Welcome and Keynote by Hon Damien O'Connor		
9.00am	 Formal Welcome Michael Steedman, Ngāti Whātua, Kaiarataki, Deputy Pro-Vice Chancellor Māori, UoA Professor Valerie Linton, Provost, UoA Professor Robert Greenberg, Dean of Arts 	Chair: Prof Jennifer Curtin	
9.15am- 9.30am	Keynote address: Hon Damien O'Connor, Minister for Trade and Export Growth New Zealand's trade policy agenda	Introduced by Dr Erik Lithander, Deputy Vice Chancellor Strategic Engagement, UoA	
9.35am – 10.30am	Session 1.2 The Geo-Political Context into 2022		
	 Prof Robert Patman (US Expert - Otago) Prof Maureen Benson Rea (EU Expert - UoA) Dr Stephen Noakes (China Expert - UoA) Prof Steven Ratuva (Pacific Expert - University of Canterbury) 	Chair: Prof Jennifer Curtin Live plus Q and A via Chat	
10.35- 11.30am	Session 1.3 Growing Europe-New Zealand Trade – Opportunities in new Free Trade Agreements		
	 Clare Kelly, MFAT (Acting Deputy Secretary, Trade) Simon Tucker (Fonterra) Hone McGregor (Wakatū Inc, Te Taumata) Marcus Driller (Fisher and Paykel Healthcare) 	Chair: Prof Maureen Benson- Rea Live plus Q and A via Chat	
11.35am	10-minute break		
11.45am- 12.30pm	Session 1.4 How New Zealand responds to Supply Chain Challenges		
	 Prof Anna Strutt, University of Waikato Harriet Shelton, MOT (Head of Supply Chains) Alex Larsen, Air NZ (Cargo Manager) 	Chair: Prof Tava Olsen Live plus Q and A via Chat	







12.35pm- 1.25pm	Session 1.5 Developments in Digital Trade and Sustainability	
12.35pm- 1.25pm	 Developments in Digital Trade and Sustainability Yvonne Lucas, NZPECC Graeme Muller, NZTech Stephanie Honey, Honey Consulting 	Chair: Dr Haiping Zhang Live plus Q and A via Chat
1.28pm	Looking forward to Day 2 and bonus sessions	Prof Jennifer Curtin
1.30pm	End of Day One	

Thursday, 9 December 2021, 9:00am-1:30pm			
9.00am	Day 2 conference begins – Welcome back	Online	
9.05am- 10.05am	Session 2.1 Te Tiriti and Indigenous Trade Policy		
9.05am-9.15am	Speech: Rino Tirikatene, Parliamentary Under- Secretary for Trade and Export Growth	Introduced by Dr Juan Tauri	
	Aotearoa New Zealand's trade policy ambitions for Māori and other Indigenous peoples	Pre-recorded	
9.15am- 10.05am	 UNDRIP, Te Tiriti and Inclusive Trade A/Prof Claire Charters, University of Auckland Prof Jane Kelsey, University of Auckland Carrie Stoddart-Smith, OpinioNative Tupe Solomon-Tanoa'i, Inclusive Trade Advocate 	Chair: Dr Juan Tauri Live plus Q&A via Chat	
10.10am- 11.15am	Session 2.2 Trade in the Pacific		
10.10am- 10.20am	Speech: Hon Phil Twyford, Minister of State for Trade and Export Growth PACER Plus – developments and the future	Introduced by A/Prof Yvonne Underhill-Sem Pre-recorded	
10.25am- 11.15am	 Trade in the Pacific Blue Continent Glynis Miller, Pacific Trade and Invest Roy Lagolago, PACER Plus Implementation Unit Desmond Tupangaia, Pacific Regional Division, MFAT 	Chair: A/Prof Yvonne Underhill- Sem Live plus Q&A via Chat	







11.15am	15-minute break	
11:30am- 12.20pm	Session 2.3 COP26 and Green Trade Policy	
11:30am- 11:40am	Speech: HE Laura Clarke, British High Commissioner to New Zealand	Chair: Prof Jennifer Curtin
	COP26 - Reflections from the host country	Live
11:45am- 12.20pm	 Green Trade Policy after COP26: New Directions Kate Wilson Butler, Sustainable Business Council (Head of Climate Action) Caroline Lambert, European Delegation to NZ (Head of Trade) Helen Churchman, MPI (Principal Adviser, Trade Policy) 	Chair Prof Steven Poelhekke Live plus Q and A via Chat
12.25pm- 1.30pm	Session 2.4 New Zealand's APEC Hosting Year and Closing Remarks	
12.25pm- 12.35pm	Speech: Vangelis Vitalis, APEC Senior Officials' Meeting (SOM) Chair	Chair: Prof Jennifer Curtin
	NZ's APEC hosting year – what was achieved, and next steps	Live
12.40pm- 1.25pm	Wrapping up New Zealand's APEC Hosting Year – Next Steps • A/Prof Rob Scollay, Auckland University (Director – APEC Studies Centre) • Mark Talbot, MFAT (Divisional Manager – APEC Division)	Chair: Fran O'Sullivan Live plus Q and A via Chat
1.25pm	Closing Remarks	Prof Jennifer Curtin
1.30pm	ATEPS 2021 concludes	

Scroll down to see the Bonus Sessions







	Bonus Sessions	
Bonus session to watch at any time	 The future of RCEP and regional politics Prof. Michael Plummer, John Hopkins University 	Chair: A/Prof Rob Scollay
		Pre-record
Bonus session to watch at any time	 Focusing in on the Asia Pacific A/Prof Shiro Armstrong, Crawford School of Public Policy, Australia National University 	Chair: Dr Asha Sundaram
	 Prof Peter Drysdale, Crawford School of Public Policy, Australia National University 	Pre-record
Bonus session to watch at any time	 Climate Change and Implications for Trade Policy Prof Mark Howden, Institute for Climate, Energy Disaster Solutions, Australian National University 	Chair: Prof Steven Poelhekke
		Pre-record
Bonus session to watch at any time	Global Governance of Health and Implications for Trade • Prof Sara Davies, School of Government and International Relations, Griffith University	Chair: Prof Jennifer Curtin
		Pre-record





