

# Wilson-Allison Memorial Prize in Dermatology

Code: P801

Faculty: Medical and Health Sciences

Applicable study: MBChB Part IV
Closing date: By nomination

Tenure: Prize
For: Prize
Number on offer: One
Offer rate: Annually

Value: \$750 and a certificate

### **Description**

The Prize was originally endowed by N M Peryer Ltd to commemorate the work of the late Dr H W Wilson of Auckland and the late Dr P E Allison of Christchurch, who were pioneers of dermatology in New Zealand. From 2013, the New Zealand Dermatological Society Incorporated (NZDSI) has provided support for this Prize to fund annual dermatology prizes to New Zealand medical students.

### Selection process

- Nomination is made to the Scholarships Office
- The Prize will be be awarded by the University of Auckland Council on the recommendation of the President of the NZDSI and the Head of the Department of Medicine

## Regulations

- 1. The Prize will be known as the Wilson-Allison Memorial Prize in Dermatology.
- 2. The value of the Prize will be \$750 and a certificate.
- 3. The Prize will be awarded annually to the MBChB Part IV student who submits the best essay of 2000 words or less to be judged by the President of the NZDSI and the Head of the Department of Medicine (see Note II).
- 4. The Prize will be awarded by the University of Auckland Council on the recommendation of the President of the NZDSI and the Head of the Department of Medicine, and will be presented at the commencement of the MBChB Part V.
- 5. The University of Auckland Council will not be bound to award the Prize in any year if there is no candidate of sufficient merit.
- 6. In the event of a tie, the Head of the School of Medicine will determine if the Prize may be shared.
- 7. The University of Auckland Council has the power to amend or vary these regulations provided that there is no departure from the main purpose of the Prize.
- 8. Notes [I]-[II] are deemed to be regulations.

#### **Notes**

The NZDSI awards two annual undergraduate dermatology prizes; one to the University of Auckland and one to the University of Otago.
 The NZDSI will determine the annual essay title. Submissions are made directly to the NZDSI Administration via the NZDSI website.