The University of Auckland Society Incorporated Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Monday 16 November 2020 The Great Hall, ClockTower, 5:15 pm

Present: David Abbott, Margaret Brothers, Murray Carter, Shiprah Christian, Janet Copsey, Arvind Dullabh, Ann Elder, Richard Flower, Shizuko Frederiksens, Harijs Frederiksens, Helen Gaeta, Adele Graham, Greg Gray, Margaret Horsburgh, Brownwen Innes, John La Roche, Sue La Roche, Amy Malcolm, Celia Mannion, Robyn Northey, Richard Northey, Jennie Oakley, Charmian O'Connor, Margaret Oldham, Denys Oldham, Kaye Ottaway, Lorraine Parker, Neil Pollock, Karen Thompson, Eva Tollemache, Rodolfo Torres, Linda Tyler, Noel Vautier, Jack Woodward, Rachel Yang

Other attendees: Christine Bartlett, Peter Brothers, Jenny Dixon, Dawn Freshwater, James Hucklesby, Denise McKay, Liz Mok, Laura Pedofsky, Julie Ryan, Erin Thomas

Apologies: Frances Bell, Anthony Blaschke, Raewyn Dalziel, Paul Gilberd, Gae Griffiths, Peter Hays, Geoffrey Hinds, Christine Keller-Smith, Ivan Pivac, Cecilia Tarrant, Jenny Te Paa Daniel, Karen Torkar

1. WELCOME

Society President, Janet Copsey, welcomed all present to the AGM.

Apologies were noted.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the last AGM held on Wednesday 4 December 2019 had been circulated prior to the meeting, and it was resolved that they be accepted. Charmian O'Connor **Moved** that the minutes be accepted. Jenny Oakley

Seconded: CARRIED

3. MATTERS ARISING

There were no matters arising.

4. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

The President's report had been circulated prior to the meeting.

There were no questions arising from the President's report.

David Abbott **Moved** that the President's Report be accepted. Eva Tollemache **Seconded**: **CARRIED**

5. TREASURER'S REPORT

The Treasurer's report had been circulated prior to the meeting. The Treasurer, Karen Thompson, spoke to the report for the year ending 30 June 2020.

The report proposed to move the donations of \$3580 received by the Society to the University of Auckland Foundation.

There were no questions arising from the Treasurer's report.

Jenny Oakley **Moved** that the Treasurer's Report be accepted. Amy Malcolm **Seconded: CARRIED**

6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

President: Amy Malcolm was the sole nomination for President.

Janet Copsey **Moved** that Amy be appointed President. David Abbott **Seconded: CARRIED.** Amy Malcolm was elected.

<u>Vice-President:</u> Richard Northey was the sole nomination for Vice-President. Janet Copsey **Moved** that Richard Northey be appointed Vice-President. Eva Tollemache **Seconded: CARRIED.** Richard Northey was re-elected.

7. ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Six existing Executive Committee members were standing again for 2021 – David Abbott, Paul Gilberd, Karen Thompson, Eva Tollemache, Janet Copsey and Rachel Yang.

Jenny Oakley **Moved** that they all be elected as the Executive Committee for 2021. Greg Gray **Seconded: CARRIED**

8. GENERAL BUSINESS

There were no items of General Business.

The President closed the meeting at 5:22pm.