The University of Auckland Society Incorporated Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Tuesday 4 December 2018 Old Government House, Lounge, 5:30pm

Present: David Abbott, Devi Mallawa Arachchi, Bill Bell, Frances Bell, Alex Biland, Rosemarie Biland, Anthony Blaschke, Jenny Briggs, Jody Clarke, Janet Copsey, Jordan Curtis, Raewyn Dalziel, Coral Foster, Shizuko Frederiksens, Harijs Frederiksens, Paul Gilberd, Adele Graham, Greg Gray, Jennifer Hayman, Peter Hays, Margaret Horsburgh, Bronwen Innes, John La Roche, Sue La Roche, Lynn Lander, Vaana Langdon, Heather Lees, Renee Liang, Amy Malcolm, Celia Mannion, Warwick Nicoll, Robyn Northey, Richard Northey, Patti O'Neill, Jennie Oakley, Charmian O'Connor, Neil Pollock, Trevor Richards, Rex Russell, Sir Anand Satyanand, John Strevens, Karen Thompson, Eva Tollemache, Noel Vautier, Christopher Wigley, George Wingate, Jack Woodward, Mary Woodward, Rachel Yang,

Apologies:

Andrew Becroft, Christine Keller Smith, Ruth Mclay, Jennifer Te Paa-Daniel, Alex Tjahjana, Lyndy Sainsbury

1. WELCOME

Society President, Janet Copsey, welcomed all present to the AGM and acknowledged the Society's patron, the Rt Hon Sir Anand Satyanand, together with special University guest; Chancellor, Scott St John.

Apologies were noted.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the last AGM held on Tuesday 5 December 2017 had been circulated prior to the meeting, and it was resolved that they be accepted. Paul Gilberd **Moved** that the minutes be accepted. Amy Malcolm **Seconded**: **CARRIED**

3. MATTERS ARISING

There were no matters arising.

4. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

The President's report had been circulated prior to the meeting. It was confirmed that two Executive Committee members, Sylvia Rosevear and Devi Arachchi, were standing down in their roles. Janet thanked Sylvia and Devi for their support.

There were no questions arising from the President's report.

Karen Thompson **Moved** that the President's Report be accepted. Bronwen Innes **Seconded**: **CARRIED**

5. TREASURER'S REPORT

The Treasurer's report had been circulated prior to the meeting. The Treasurer, Karen Thompson, spoke to the report for the year ending 30 June 2018.

Janet Copsey proposed the recommendation to transfer member donations of \$5,405 to the University Foundation.

Amy Malcolm **Moved** that the recommendation be accepted. Jennie Oakley **Seconded: CARRIED**

There were no questions arising from the Treasurer's report.

Janet Copsey **Moved** that the Treasurer's Report be accepted. Jack Woodward **Seconded**: **CARRIED**

6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Janet Copsey invited the Society's Vice President to chair the election of the President for 2019.

<u>President:</u> Janet Copsey was the sole nomination for President. Amy Malcolm **Moved** that Janet Copsey be appointed President. Charmian O'Connor **Seconded: CARRIED.**

Janet returned to chair the election of the Vice-President.

<u>Vice-President:</u> Richard Northey was the sole nomination for Vice-President. Janet Copsey **Moved** that Richard Northey be appointed Vice-President. Amy Malcolm **Seconded: CARRIED**

7. ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Seven existing Executive Committee members were standing again for 2019 - Paul Gilberd, Renee Liang, Amy Malcolm, Jennie Oakley, Karen Thompson, Eva Tollemache and Rachel Yang.

Janet Copsey **Moved** that they all be elected as the Executive Committee for 2019. Bronwen Innes **Seconded: CARRIED**

8. GENERAL BUSINESS

There were no items of General Business.

The President closed the meeting at 5.38pm and introduced the Chancellor Scott St John to give a University update on the recruitment of a new Vice-Chancellor for 2020.

Chairperson

Date