# The University of Auckland Society Incorporated Annual General Meeting

# Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Thursday 2 December 2021 Held via Zoom

**Present:** David Abbott, Jody Clarke, Janet Copsey, Raewyn Dalziel, Paul Gilberd, Geoffrey Hinds, Amy Malcolm, Hilary Miller, Louise Nicholson, Richard Northey, Jennie Oakley, Neil Pollock, Karen Thompson, Linda Tyler, Noel Vautier, Jack Woodward, Rachel Yang,

Attended after meeting begun: Frances Bell, Arvind Dullabh, Linda Webb

**Apologies:** Helen Gaeta, Gae Griffiths, Bronwen Innes, Robyn Northey, Eva Tollemache, Pauline Warrington

1. <u>WELCOME</u>

Society President, Amy Malcolm, welcomed all present to the AGM.

Apologies were noted.

## 2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the last AGM held on Monday 16 November 2020 had been electronically circulated prior to the meeting, and it was resolved that they be accepted. David Abbott **Moved** that the minutes be accepted. Noel Vautier **Seconded**: **CARRIED** 

- 3. <u>MATTERS ARISING</u> There were no matters arising.
- 4. <u>PRESIDENT'S REPORT</u> The President's report had been electronically circulated prior to the meeting.

There were no questions arising from the President's report.

Jennie Oakley **Moved** that the President's Report be accepted. Paul Gilberd **Seconded**: **CARRIED** 

#### 5. TREASURER'S REPORT

The Treasurer's report had been electronically circulated prior to the meeting.

The report proposed to move the donations of \$330 received by the Society to the University of Auckland Foundation.

There were no questions arising from the Treasurer's report.

Hilary Miller **Moved** that the Treasurer's Report be accepted and the donations transferred to the Foundation. Neil Pollock **Seconded: CARRIED** 

### 6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

President: Amy Malcolm was the sole nomination for President.

Richard Northey took the chair and **Moved** that Amy be appointed President. Jennie Oakley **Seconded: CARRIED.** Amy Malcolm was re-elected.

<u>Vice-President</u>: Richard Northey was the sole nomination for Vice-President. Amy Malcolm **Moved** that Richard Northey be appointed Vice-President. Raewyn Dalziel **Seconded**: **CARRIED**. Richard Northey was re-elected.

# 7. ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Six existing Executive Committee members were standing again for 2022 – David Abbott, Paul Gilberd, Karen Thompson, Eva Tollemache, Janet Copsey and Rachel Yang.

Amy Malcolm **Moved** that they all be elected as the Executive Committee for 2022. Jennie Oakley **Seconded: CARRIED** 

# 8. GENERAL BUSINESS

David Abbott proposed a vote of thanks to Amy Malcolm for her Presidency and chairing of the Society for the previous year. Janet Copsey **Seconded**.

The President closed the meeting at 4:09pm.