# The University of Auckland Society Incorporated Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Tuesday 6 December 2022 Held Old Government House, 4pm

**Present:** Jody Clarke, Janet Copsey, Raewyn Dalziel, Ann Elder, Paul Gilberd, Adele Graham, Greg Gray, Peter Hays, Margaret Horsburgh, Christine Keller-Smith, Amy Malcolm, Peter Morgan, Richard Northey, Robyn Northey, Lorraine Parker, Neil Pollock, John Strevens, Cecilia Tarrant, Karen Thompson, Eva Tollemache, Noel Vautier, Rachel Yang

**Apologies:** David Abbott, Frances Bell, Richard Flower, Helen Gaeta, Gae Griffiths, Geoffrey Hinds, Celia Mannion, Barbara Morgan, Warwick Nicoll, Charmian O'Connor, Denys Oldham, Margaret Oldham, Maris O'Rourke, Jennifer Te Paa-Daniel, Jack Woodward

#### 1. WELCOME

Society President, Richard Northey, welcomed all present to the AGM.

Richard Northey **Moved** that the apologies be received. Janet Copsey **Seconded: CARRIED** 

#### 2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the last AGM held on Thursday 2 December 2021 had been circulated prior to the meeting, and it was resolved that they be accepted. Noel Vautier **Moved** that the minutes be accepted. Amy Malcolm **Seconded**: **CARRIED** 

#### 3. MATTERS ARISING

Christine Keller-Smith raised the importance of the Society as an independent and separate entity to the University.

## 4. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

The President's report had been circulated prior to the meeting.

There were no questions arising from the President's report.

Richard Northey **Moved** that the President's Report be accepted. Eva Tollemache **Seconded**: **CARRIED** 

## 5. TREASURER'S REPORT

The Treasurer's report had been electronically circulated prior to the meeting.

The report proposed to move the donations of \$1,000 received by the Society to the University of Auckland Foundation.

There were no questions arising from the Treasurer's report.

Amy Malcolm **Moved** that the Treasurer's Report be accepted and the donations transferred to the Foundation. Janet Copsey **Seconded: CARRIED** 

## 6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

President: Richard Northey was the sole nomination for President.

Karen Thompson took the chair and **Moved** that Richard be appointed President. Paul Gilberd **Seconded: CARRIED.** Richard Northey was reelected.

<u>Vice-President:</u> Janet Copsey was the sole nomination for Vice-President. Richard Northey **Moved** that Janet Copsey be appointed Vice-President. Eva Tollemache **Seconded: CARRIED.** Janet Copsey was re-elected.

#### 7. ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Four of the six existing Executive Committee members were standing again for 2023 – Amy Malcolm, Karen Thompson, Eva Tollemache, and Rachel Yang.

Richard Northey **Moved** that they all be elected as the Executive Committee for 2023. Janet Copsey **Seconded: CARRIED** 

## 8. GENERAL BUSINESS

Richard Northey proposed a vote of thanks to Paul Gilberd and David Abbott who stepped down from the Executive Committee. A vote of thanks was also given to Amy Malcolm for her Presidency and chairing of the Society for the previous year.

Peter Hays asked what plans were in place to attract new members and what events will be held in 2023. Richard Northey mentioned a potential Society Salon and a debate held at the University prior to the election. He also referred to the President Report in regard to discussions around the future of the Society and advised members were welcome to be involved in this. Christine Keller-Smith told the meeting that she, Gae Griffiths, Peter Hays, Warwick Nicoll and Jack Woodward had advised her that they would all like to be involved in these discussions.

The President closed the meeting at 4.28pm.