# The University of Auckland Society Incorporated Annual General Meeting

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Wednesday 4 December 2019 Old Government House, Lounge, 5:30pm

**Present:** David Abbott, Bill Bell, Frances Bell, Jenny Briggs, Murray Carter, Margaret Chalk, Jody Clarke, , Janet Copsey, Ann Elder, Harijs Frederiksens, Shizuko Frederiksens, Helen Gaeta, Greg Gray, Jairo Gutierrez, Jennifer Hayman, Peter Hays, John La Roche, Sue La Roche, Chan Lin, Amy Malcolm, Celia Mannion, Richard Northey, Robyn Northey, Jennie Oakley, Charmian O'Connor, Denys Oldham, Margaret Oldham, Ivan Pivac, Neil Pollock, Lyndy Sainsbury, Cecilia Tarrant, Karen Thompson, Alex Tjahjana, Eva Tollemache, Karen Torkar, Rodolfo Torres, Linda Webb, George Wingate, Jack Woodward, Mary Woodward, Rachel Yang,

**Other attendees:** Mark Bentley, Kath Clarke, Coral Foster, Anand Mohan, Peter Morgan, Alice Zhao

#### **Apologies:**

Anna Brooker, Raewyn Dalziel, Paul Gilberd, Gae Griffiths, Geoffrey Hinds, Bronwen Innes, Renee Liang, Chris Milne, Patti O'Neill, Trevor Richards

1. WELCOME

Society President, Janet Copsey, welcomed all present to the AGM and acknowledged special University guest: Deputy Vice-Chancellor Strategic Engagement, Professor Jenny Dixon.

Apologies were noted.

2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the last AGM held on Tuesday 4 December 2018 had been circulated prior to the meeting, and it was resolved that they be accepted. Charmian O'Connor **Moved** that the minutes be accepted. David Abbott **Seconded**: **CARRIED** 

3. <u>MATTERS ARISING</u> There were no matters arising.

#### 4. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

The President's report had been circulated prior to the meeting. The President spoke about the Society's Co-Patron, Rt Hon Sir Anand Satyanand, stepping down from his role and acknowledged the support he had provided to the Society over the past three years. It was confirmed that two Executive Committee members, Jennie Oakley and Renee Liang, were also standing down from their roles. Janet thanked Jennie and Renee for their support and presented Jennie, who was at the meeting, with flowers. There was a question asked by Peter Hays regarding the President's Report. Peter noted that Society member numbers had not increased much in recent years and asked about plans for increasing members. The President advised that the Alumni Relations and Development team now organise a plethora of events to which Alumni (including Society members) are invited and this appears to have impacted on paid Society memberships. Amy Malcolm also added that the Society Executive Committee had begun discussing a new strategy for the future.

Cecilia Tarrant **Moved** that the President's Report be accepted. Eva Tollemache **Seconded**: **CARRIED** 

#### 5. TREASURER'S REPORT

The Treasurer's report had been circulated prior to the meeting. The Treasurer, Karen Thompson, spoke to the report for the year ending 30 June 2019.

Janet Copsey proposed the recommendation to transfer member donations of \$3,352 to the University Foundation. Robyn Northey **Moved** that the recommendation be accepted. Peter Hays **Seconded: CARRIED** 

There were no questions arising from the Treasurer's report.

Robyn Northey **Moved** that the Treasurer's Report be accepted. Richard Northey **Seconded**: **CARRIED** 

## 6. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Janet Copsey invited the Society's Vice President, Richard Northey, to chair the election of the President for 2019.

<u>President:</u> Janet Copsey was the sole nomination for President. David Abbott **Moved** that Janet Copsey be appointed President. Richard Northey **Seconded: CARRIED** 

Janet returned to chair the election of the Vice-President.

<u>Vice-President:</u> Richard Northey was the sole nomination for Vice-President. Janet Copsey **Moved** that Richard Northey be appointed Vice-President. Amy Malcolm **Seconded: CARRIED** 

## 7. ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Five existing Executive Committee members were standing again for 2020 - Paul Gilberd, Amy Malcolm, Karen Thompson, Eva Tollemache and Rachel Yang.

One new nomination was received to join the Executive Committee for 2020 from David Abbott. Jennie Oakley **Moved** that they all be elected as the Executive Committee for 2020. Jenny Briggs **Seconded: CARRIED** 

### 8. GENERAL BUSINESS

There were no items of General Business.

The President closed the meeting at 5.41pm and introduced the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Strategic Engagement, Professor Jenny Dixon to speak about her role in the University's engagement nationally and internationally.

Chairperson

Date