

Theodore Roosevelt Postgraduate Prize in United States History

Code:	P176
Faculty:	Arts and Education
Applicable study:	Postgraduate study or research in United States History
Closing date:	By nomination
Tenure:	
For:	Prize
Number on offer:	One
Offer rate:	Annually
Value:	\$300

Description

This Prize is funded by Susan and Steve West for an Honours student majoring in History who has displayed the best overall academic performance in either coursework or research in the area of United States History.

Selection process

- Nomination is made to the Scholarships Office
- The Prize is awarded by the University of Auckland Council on the recommendation of the Deputy Head (Academic) of the School of Humanities

Regulations

- 1. The Prize will be known as the Theodore Roosevelt Postgraduate Prize in United States History.
- 2. The value of the Prize will be \$300.
- 3. This Prize will recognize a postgraduate student, majoring in History, who has achieved the highest mark in a course relating to the study of United States history. In the event of a tie, the Prize will be awarded to the student who has demonstrated the highest level of commitment to the study of United States History as determined by factors including, but not limited to, the number of courses taken in United States History at undergraduate level and the level of contribution and engagement in classwork. As a minimum standard, the student should have a GPA of at least 7.00 (equivalent to an A- grade).
- 4. The Prize will be awarded by the University of Auckland Council on the recommendation of the Deputy Head (Academic) of the School of Humanities (or nominee) following consultation with the Major/Specialisation Leader for History (or nominee).
- 5. The University of Auckland Council is not obliged to make an award if it is determined there is no candidate that meets the criteria and/or no candidate of sufficient merit.
- 6. The Prize may not be shared.
- 7. The University of Auckland Council can amend or vary these regulations in consultation with the Faculty of Arts,

provided that there is no departure from the main purpose of the Prize.