Photography competition winners

Congratulations to the winners and finalists in the recent 'Showcasing Sustainability through Photography' Competition, held as part of the Sustainable Development Goals Summit.

Overall winner and winner of the 'Planet' category

Big difference

"Even a single small act can make a big difference"
Photographer: Sylwia Kolenderska
Category: Planet - Protecting our planet’s natural resources and climate for future generations

Winner of the People's Choice Award

Changing production and consumption

"By changing production and consumption to become more sustainable we can help protect our marine life"
Photographer: Briar Hubbard
Category: Planet - Protecting our planet’s natural resources and climate for future generations

Winner of the 'People' category


"Transparency and fair trade can reduce inequalities. As consumers, we predominantly are unaware of the origins of our products and the producers are not paid a fair share for their labour such as the Khmer farmer shown in the photograph"
Photographer: Katja Phutaraksa Neef
Category: People - Ending poverty and hunger in all forms and ensure dignity and equality

Winner of the 'Prosperity' category

Harmony with nature

"The brightest of futures of the modern, high-tech world is based on harmony with the natural one"
Photographer: Sylwia Kolenderska
Category: Prosperity - Ensuring prosperous and fulfilling lives in harmony with nature

Winner of the 'Peace' category


"Hazdistazí, a spectacular rock formation treasured by original inhabitants (the Navajos) and visitors alike"
Photographer: Lingjun Leathwick
Category: Peace - Fostering peaceful, just and inclusive societies

Winner of the 'Partnership' category

Operation Tidy Fox

"Volunteers and Defense Force Members clean landfill waste from Fox River in Operation Tidy Fox"
Photographer: Alysha Johnson
Category: Partnership - Implementing the sustainable development goals agenda through a solid global partnership

Congratulations to our other finalists

Aqfan Jamaluddin
Ben Cooper
Chengwen Lu
Hyebin Han
Josh Hilliam
Lingjun Leathwick
Louise Wigram
Na Zhang