Engineers win the Sir Wilson Whineray Cup

12 October 2010

The Faculty of Engineering have confirmed their claim to the Sir Wilson Whineray Cup, winning the 2010 Interfaculty Rugby Tournament.

In a rematch of the 2009 inaugural rugby tournament final, the Mighty River Power Engineering Eagles got their retribution, beating the Ernst & Young Commerce Cougars in a closely fought game, 20-19.

“It was good to get some revenge back for last year’s loss in the final. The team has put in a lot of hard work over the last two months and we’re happy that the hard work has paid off,” says Eagles coach, Graham Bougen.

“Over half the team will be back again next year to ensure the trophy stays on the right side of Grafton Road for another year”

The significance of the win and the effort involved was not lost on Professor Michael Davies, Dean of Engineering – present among the 300 spectators at Colin Maiden Park.

“I am delighted that, having lost a close fought final against Commerce in 2009, Engineering came through an equally tight game against the same team to win this year,” the Dean said.

“Both sides should be congratulated for the total commitment they displayed in the game.”

In the two matches that preceded the final, Property won the Plate Final, beating the Faculty of Science 22-17, while Education took third place overall, beating the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, 20-15.

The results and the nature of the competition highlight a growing enthusiasm for sport at the University, from participants and spectators alike.

“Today’s games and the supporters that came along, both students and staff, were treated to some great games of rugby,” said Sports Manager, Tim Brightwell.

“The rugby tournament, and the Sports Tournament programme overall, have been great at creating competitive interfaculty rivalries that make the tournament that much more exciting to take part in, either as a player or as a supporter.”

The tournament forms part of the wider Interfaculty Sports Tournament programme, with the overall winner to be announced before the end of semester.