Pacific Reference Group

Providing policy advice to the University on Pacific issues.

Terms of reference


  • To provide strategic and policy advice to the office of the VC through the PVC (Equity) and the Equity Committee on issues relating to Pacific equity issues; and to provide strategic and policy advice to the office of the VC through the Director, Centre for Pacific Studies on issues relating to Pacific Advancement;
  • To contribute to the University’s submissions to government and external stakeholders (eg TEC, MOE) on policy matters regarding Pacific peoples;
  • To advise the office of the VC through the PVC (Equity) and Equity Committee on the progress and achievements of the University with respect to its objectives in the University’s strategic plan relating to Pacific peoples and;
  • To advise the VC through the PVC (Equity) and Equity Committee on operational matters relevant to the delivery of strategic equity objects to Pacific peoples; to advise the VC through the CPS Director on operational matters relevant to the delivery of strategic objects to Pacific Advancement at the University of Auckland.

Membership of Pacific Reference Group


  • Two staff members per faculty
  • Two staff members from service divisions
  • One student representative
  • One community representative
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor (EO) representative.

PRG members (as of March 2010)


Faculty/Service Division Members Email
Arts Dr Yvonne Underhill-Sem y.underhill-sem@auckland.ac.nz
Arts Associate Professor Damon Salesa d.salesa@auckland.ac.nz
Business Dr Manuka Henare m.henare@auckland.ac.nz
Business Dr Rachel Wolfgramm r.wolfgramm@auckland.ac.nz
NICAI Dr Jon Bywater j.bywater@auckland.ac.nz
Engineering Dr Rajnish Sharma r.sharma@auckland.ac.nz
Medical and Health Dr. Vili Nosa  v.nosa@auckland.ac.nz
Medical and Health Dr Teuila Percival t.percival@auckland.ac.nz
Science Ms Hana Matau / Ms Helen Collins (alternate) h.matau@auckland.ac.nzh.collins@auckland.ac.nz
Science Dr Sina Greenwood s.greenwood@auckland.ac.nz   
Library Judy McFall   j.mcfall@auckland.ac.nz
Law Miss Helena Kaho h.kaho@auckland.ac.nz
Education Miss Antoinette Vaha a.vaha@auckland.ac.nz
Education Dr Diane Mara d.mara@auckland.ac.nz
Service Division Ms Judy McFall McCaffery j.mcfall@auckland.ac.nz
Service Division Dr Ema Wolfgramm Foliaki ea.wolfgramm-foliaki@auckland.ac.nz
AUPISA Ms Tamm Kingi aupisa@auckland.ac.nz
Equity  Office Ms Terri Leo-Mauu t.leo-mauu@auckland.ac.nz

Ex-officio member:

  • Mr Walter Fraser (Director of Centre for Pacific Studies): Chair Pacific Reference Group

Contact Pacific Reference Group


Pacific-related issues at the University can be raised with the Pacific Reference Group via Walter Fraser (Director of Centre for Pacific Studies).

Email: w.fraser@auckland.ac.nz