World class New Zealanders celebrated

Jennifer Flay

Outstanding members of the University of Auckland community have been recognised at this month’s prestigious 2018 Kea World Class New Zealand Awards (WCNZ).

The Kea awards recognise the best among New Zealand’s community of Kiwi innovators, entrepreneurs and business leaders making an impact on the world stage.

The Kea World Class New Zealand Supreme Award went to husband-and-wife duo Neal and Annette Plowman, who have played significant philanthropic roles throughout the country, including at the University of Auckland.

Alumni Dr Delwyn Moller, Dr Mark Sagar, Mitchell Pham, and Jennifer Flay were also recipients of a WCNZ Award.

University of Auckland’s Associate Professor Mark Sagar is the CEO and Co-founder of Soul Machines, and Director of the Laboratory for Animate Technologies at the University of Auckland’s Bioengineering Institute (ABI). He was recognised for his work in developing new technologies to humanise artificial intelligence.

Dr Delwyn Moller is the Director of Research at the Centre for Space Science Technology. She was celebrated for her ground-breaking contribution to the development of highly advanced earth science technology systems.

Mitchell Pham is the Co-founder, Director and Head of Sales and Marketing of the Augen Software Group in New Zealand, as well as chairman and director of its operation in Vietnam. Pham was recognised for contributing to New Zealand-Asia relations, as well as the technology sector. He has contributed to Government, health and social services and business sectors and is a co-founder of a handful of companies.

Jennifer Flay is the General Director of Foire Internationale d'art Contemporain (FIAC), Paris's international contemporary art fair. She was the recipient of a WCNZ Award for her contribution to the fine arts and the renewal of FIAC — now one of the most prestigious art events in the world.