Interview, assessment and job preparation workshops

Get prepared for interviews, assessment centres and psychometric tests with these workshops and improve your employability.

Assessment centres explained

Many employers of Business School graduates use assessment centres as part of their recruitment process.

  • Come to this workshop to find out:
  • What an assessment centre is
  • Different types of activities you might encounter
  • The techniques used by employers to assess you
  • Tips on how to improve your performance

Workshops in Semester Two 2018

  • Monday 30 July, 1-2pm, Room 319. Register
  • Tuesday 14 August, 2-3pm, Room 321. Register
  • Wednesday 29 August, 11am-12,Room 273-104. Register
  • Wednesday 12 September, 2-3pm, Room 317. Register
  • Monday 17 September, 1-2pm, Room 317. Register

Interviews explained

Nervous about recruitment interviews? This workshop addresses the fundamentals of an interview with tips from employers of Business School graduates.

Discover:

  • How to structure your answers so you stand out at interviews
  • The different types of interviews
  • How to prepare for them

Workshops in Semester Two 2018

  • Thursday 9 August, 11am-12, Room 321. Register
  • Tuesday 21 August, 11am-12 , Room 317. Register
  • Wednesday 29 August, 10am-11am,Room 273-104. Register
  • Monday 10 September, 1-2pm, Room 317. Register
  • Monday 1 October, 12-1pm, Room 317. Register
  • Thursday 15 November, 2.30-3.30pm, Room 325. Register

Employability skills

Employability skills are the skills and capabilities that make you more likely to gain employment. To be competitive you need to show employers you have the skills they require. Find out how to further develop your skills and effectively and convincingly describe them in your job application and an interview.

Workshops in Semester Two 2018

  • Tuesday 17 July, 11am-12, Room 317. Register
  • Thursday 26 July, 11am-12, Room 317. Register
  • Tuesday 14 August, 3pm-4pm, Room 321. Register
  • Tuesday 28 August, 1.30pm-2.30pm, Room 040C. Register
  • Thursday 20 September, 12-1pm, Room 317. Register
  • Thursday 15 November, 12.30pm-1.30pm, Room 325. Register

Psychometric tests decoded

Feedback from Business School graduate employers is that students don’t prepare enough for psychometric tests.

In this workshop, you will find out:

  • What a psychometric test is
  • Why employers use them
  • Common types of tests
  • Tips and advice on doing well during this process
  • How to prepare

Workshops in Semester Two 2018

  • Wednesday 25 July, 2-3pm, Room 317. Register
  • Thursday 16 August, 10am-11am, Room 321. Register
  • Wednesday 29 August, 12.30-1.30pm, Room 273.104. Register
  • Tuesday 11 September, 2-3pm, Room 321. Register
  • Tuesday 18 September, 11am-12, Room 317. Register
  • Monday 1 October, 1-2pm, Room 317. Register