Academic staff

Auckland Law School attracts high quality academics and we are proud of the teaching and research they do.

Our Law School is known around the world for the quality of the research and teaching its staff provide. Academic research feeds into strong research-based teaching, and as a faculty we are committed to a strong research culture. Our staff publish regularly in leading international law journals. Members of the Auckland Law School are regularly sought after for their expertise in a variety of legal, political and academic pursuits.

Read more about some of the exciting research our staff are doing.

If you are a member of the media please see our Media Directory to find a subject expert relevant to your story and to get our media contact details.

Faculty members

Rob Batty
Phone: +64 9 923 4370
Email: r.batty@auckland.ac.nz

Klaus Bosselmann
Phone: +64 9 923 7827
Email: k.bosselmann@auckland.ac.nz

Nikki Chamberlain
Phone: +64 9 923 1696
Email: n.chamberlain@auckland.ac.nz

Claire Charters
Phone: +64 9 923 9436
Email: c.charters@auckland.ac.nz

Vincent Cogliati-Bantz
Phone: +64 9 923 6690
Email: v.cogliati-bantz@auckland.ac.nz

Francis Dawson
Phone: +64 9 923 9413
Email: f.dawson@auckland.ac.nz

Peter Devonshire
Phone: +64 9 923 5638
Email: p.devonshire@auckland.ac.nz

Katherine Doolin
Phone: +64 9 923 2822
Email: k.doolin@auckland.ac.nz

Treasa Dunworth
Phone: +64 9 923 8008
Email: t.dunworth@auckland.ac.nz

Craig Elliffe
Phone: +64 9 923 8990
Email: c.elliffe@auckland.ac.nz

Andrew Erueti
Phone: +64 9 923 8010
Email: a.erueti@auckland.ac.nz

Caroline Foster
Phone: +64 9 923 5636
Email: c.foster@auckland.ac.nz

David Grinlinton
Phone: +64 9 923 7230
Email: d.grinlinton@auckland.ac.nz

Rohan Havelock
Phone: +64 9 923 8020
Email: r.havelock@auckland.ac.nz

An Hertogen
Phone: +64 9 923 1129
Email: an.hertogen@auckland.ac.nz

Anna Hood
Phone: +64 9 923 2242
Email: a.hood@auckland.ac.nz

John Ip
Phone: +64 9 923 2387
Email: j.ip@auckland.ac.nz

Amokura Kawharu
Phone: +64 9 923 6397
Email: a.kawharu@auckland.ac.nz

Jane Kelsey
Phone: +64 9 923 8006
Email: j.kelsey@auckland.ac.nz

Timothy Kuhner
Phone: +64 9 923 4017
Email: timothy.kuhner@auckland.ac.nz

Carrie Leonetti
Phone: +64 9 923 4313
Email: carrie.leonetti@auckland.ac.nz

Michael Littlewood
Phone: +64 9 923 5633
Email: m.littlewood@auckland.ac.nz

Joanna Manning
Phone: +64 9 923 8804
Email: j.manning@auckland.ac.nz

Janet McLean
Phone: +64 9 923 9720
Email: j.mclean@auckland.ac.nz

Chris Noonan
Phone: +64 9 923 7444
Email: c.noonan@auckland.ac.nz

Jane Norton
Phone: +64 9 923 8118
Email: jane.norton@auckland.ac.nz

Scott Optican
Phone: +64 9 923 5637
Email: s.optican@auckland.ac.nz

Ron Paterson
Phone: +64 9 923 8028
Email: r.paterson@auckland.ac.nz

Paul Rishworth
Phone: +64 9 923 8031
Email: pt.rishworth@auckland.ac.nz

Marcus Roberts
Phone: +64 9 923 8802
Email: m.roberts@auckland.ac.nz

Arie Rosen
Phone: +64 9 923 6738
Email: a.rosen@auckland.ac.nz

Nicole Roughan
Phone: +64 9 923 8392
Email: n.roughan@auckland.ac.nz

Katherine Sanders
Phone: +64 9 923 8005
Email: k.sanders@auckland.ac.nz

Andrew Stockley - Dean of Law
Phone: +64 9 923 8027
Email: lawdean@auckland.ac.nz

Paul Sumpter
Phone: +64 9 923 6459
Email: p.sumpter@auckland.ac.nz

Warren Swain
Phone: +64 9 923 1275
Email: w.swain@auckland.ac.nz

Fleur Te Aho
Phone: +64 9 923 7240
Email: f.teaho@auckland.ac.nz

Julia Tolmie
Phone: +64 9 923 7837
Email: j.tolmie@auckland.ac.nz

Susan Watson
Phone: +64 9 923 5996
Email: s.watson@auckland.ac.nz

Peter Watts
On leave until mid-2020
Email: pg.watts@auckland.ac.nz

Hanna Wilberg
Phone: +64 9 923 4232
Email: h.wilberg@auckland.ac.nz

David Williams
Phone: +64 9 923 5639
Email: dv.williams@auckland.ac.nz

Edward Willis
Phone: +64 9 923 9355
Email: edward.willis@auckland.ac.nz

Distinguished Fellows

Honorary Professors

Jeff Berryman
Email: j.berryman@auckland.ac.nz

John Farrar
Email: j.farrar@auckland.ac.nz

Richard Scragg
Email: rj.scragg@auckland.ac.nz

David A. R. Williams QC
Email: david.williams@darwilliams.co.nz

Adjunct Professor

Mai Chen
Email: m.chen@auckland.ac.nz

Peter Hinton
Email: peter.hinton@simpsongrierson.com

Nick Wells
Email: nick.wells@chapmantripp.com

Teaching Fellows

Dylan Asafo
Email: d.asafo@auckland.ac.nz

Bernard Brown
Email: c/- s.shaw@auckland.ac.nz

Paul Collins
Email: pcollins@shortlandchambers.co.nz

Bronwyn Davies
Phone: +64 9 923 3840
Email: bronwyn.davies@auckland.ac.nz

Kim Francis
Email: Kim.Francis@mc.co.nz

Lotu Fuli
Email: l.fuli@auckland.ac.nz

David Harvey
Email: dj.harvey@auckland.ac.nz

Bill Hodge
Phone: +64 9 923 8033
Email: wc.hodge@auckland.ac.nz

Jayden Houghton
Email: jayden.houghton@auckland.ac.nz

Barnard Hutchinson
Email: b.hutchinson@auckland.ac.nz

Nina Khouri
Phone: +64 9 923 8268
Email: n.khouri@auckland.ac.nz

John Land
Phone: +64 9 379 1513
Email: john.land@bankside.co.nz

Julian Long
Email: julian.long@shortlandchambers.co.nz

Jack Oliver-Hood
Email: jack.oliver-hood@auckland.ac.nz

Stephen Penk
Phone: +64 9 923 6436
Email: s.penk@auckland.ac.nz

Stephen Price
Email: c/- Katie.Keir@minterellison.co.nz

Tracey Whare
Email: t.whare@auckland.ac.nz

Research Fellows

Sylvia Bell
Phone: +64 9 923 5389
Email: sbel003@auckland.ac.nz

Tómas Kennedy-Grant
Email: t.kennedygrant@auckland.ac.nz

Ken Palmer
Phone: +64 9 923 7828
Email: ka.palmer@auckland.ac.nz

Kerry Tetzlaff
Email: ktet001@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Emeritus Professors

Professor Brian Coote
Email: c/- s.shaw@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Jim Evans
Email: pj.evans@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Bruce Harris
Phone: +64 9 923 8032
Email: b.harris@auckland.ac.nz

Professor Dick Webb
Email: c/- t.ryan@auckland.ac.nz