Law student exchange

Complete part of your degree in other Universities while earning credits towards your University of Auckland Law degree.

Visit 360 International for all information on:

  • Eligibility
  • Fees
  • Scholarships
  • How to apply
  • What to do after coming back
  • Link to via TRM
  • General information
  • Credit
  • Costs

Outbound student exchanges

When you go abroad

  • You are usually in your 4th or 5th year
  • You can go for a semester (or two)
  • You remain enrolled at the University of Auckland 
  • You continue to pay tuition fees at Auckland
  • You pay no fees to the partner institution

Benefits to Law students

  • Experiencing a different culture will broaden your horizons
  • Increase your cultural awareness
  • Develop a much more international outlook
  • Help you to become more flexible and adaptable in your work and study
  • Chance to develop lasting international friendships and business links
  • Study subject not covered at University of Auckland
  • Gain a comparative perspective on NZ law

Where can Law students go?

Review the Exchange Partner page for the most up to date list of partners, and to review the Exchange Partner Fact Sheets.

Exchange Partner page

  1. Aarhus University, Denmark
  2. Bucerius Law School, Germany
  3. China University of Political Science and Law, China
  4. Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
  5. Ghent University, Belgium
  6. Indiana University, USA
  7. Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University , France
  8. Keio University, Japan
  9. King's College London, England
  10. KU Leuven, Belgium
  11. Lund University, Sweden
  12. National University of Singapore, Singapore
  13. Peking University, China
  14. Stockholm University, Sweden
  15. Tilburg University, Netherlands
  16. Tsinghua University, China
  17. University College Dublin, Ireland
  18. University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  19. University of Bergen, Norway
  20. University of British Columbia, Canada
  21. University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  22. University of Glasgow, Scotland
  23. University of Hong Kong, China
  24. University of Nottingham, England
  25. University of Oslo, Norway
  26. University of Toronto, Canada
  27. University of Virginia, USA
  28. University of Western Ontario, Canada
  29. Uppsala University, Sweden
  30. Utrecht University, Netherlands
  31. Queen Mary University, UK
  32. Newcastle University, UK

Faculty Specific Requirements

  • Must complete compulsory Part III courses:
    • LAW301 A+B Land Law
    • LAW306 A+B Equity
    • LAW316 Jurisprudence
  • If a student is going on exchange in their last semester they must enrol into LAW 498 in the penultimate semester
  • In selecting courses cannot select courses that are substantially similar to the ones completed at University of Auckland.

How to apply

  1. Review the Eligibility Requirements and Application Process for the 360 International Semester Exchange Programme. Eligibility Requirements and Application Process
  2. Research your host university options, reviewing the partner university fact sheets carefully. Host University options
  3. Submit your application to 360 International as outlined under How to Apply
  4. Complete your Course Approval Form once you have received a nomination offer from 360 International for a specific partner university. Please see supporting documentation for more information. Supporting documentation
  5. Complete the Course Approval form
    (send to the Student Adviser – Angela Vaai)
    Application deadlines for Semester One exchange: 1 July one year prior                              Application deadlines for Semester Two exchange: 1 December one year prior


  • University of Auckland tuition fees
  • StudyLink portable
  • Scholarships available
  • Individual universities grants and scholarships
    • 360 International Exchange Awards
    • 360 International Award for Māori and Pacific Students   
    • 360 International Award for Equity Students
    • Prime Minister’s Scholarships for Asia (PMSA)

Opportunity to Study in London
Centre for Transnational Legal Studies London – Part III Law Students

The London-based Centre for Transnational Legal Studies, launched in 2008 and administered by Georgetown Law Centre staff is a global partnership currently encompassing over 20 schools from almost as many countries around the world.

  • The University of Auckland Law School joined the partnership in 2010 as an Affiliate Member
  • The Faculty will cover the tuition fees for one student to attend one semester at the CTLS in London.
  • Accommodation and travel costs must be paid by the student.
  • Subjects studied may be credited towards the LLB or LLB (Hons).

Inbound student exchanges

Courses available to incoming students

Need more information?

  • Attend a 360 International Information seminar held every Thursday at 2pm in iSPACE, Level 4, Student Commons, 2 Alfred Street. During the seminar you can talk to a 360International officer and have your questions answered.
  • 360º International

Who can I talk to

If you have any question about the programme in general, how to apply or to get an update on your application, please contact the 360 International Office

If you would like to discuss academic matters such as your course approval, contact Law student advisor Angela Vaai