Contract, Torts, Equity and Private Law

From doctrinal analysis to policy debate to theoretical foundations, this faculty maintains its well-deserved reputation for scholarship on the law of private obligations.

Academic staff researchers and teachers

The following members of staff conduct teaching, research and postgraduate supervision in the area of Contract, Torts, Equity and Private Law.

Nikki Chamberlain | Lecturer
Email: n.chamberlain@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 1696

Field of research: Class actions and litigation funding, civil procedure, law of family property, privacy, defamation, intentional torts.

Francis Dawson | Professor
Email: f.dawson@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 9413

Field of research: Contract, equity, legal history

Peter Devonshire | Professor
Email: p.devonshire@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5638

Field of research: Remedies, obligations, equity, trusts

Craig Elliffe | Professor
Email: c.elliffe@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8990

Field of research: International tax, tax avoidance, tax reform

David Grinlinton | Professor
Email: d.grinlinton@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 7230

Field of research: Land law, leases, housing law and policy, property rights in natural resources, mining and energy law, resource management and environmental law

Mr Rohan Havelock | Senior Lecturer
Email: r.havelock@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8020

Field of research: Insurance law, equity and equitable remedies, unjust enrichment and restitution, litigation funding, building and construction law

Jo Manning | Professor
Email: j.manning@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8804

Field of research: Medical law, policy and ethics, tort law and negligence, accident compensation

Chris Noonan | Associate Professor
Email: c.noonan@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 7444

Field of research: International competition law, World Trade Organisation, regional economic integration

Jane Norton | Senior Lecturer
Email: jane.norton@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8118

Field of research: Constitutional law and legal theory, discrimination law, religious freedom, freedom of expression, freedom of association, charitable trusts, voluntary associations and unincorporated societies

Marcus Roberts | Senior Lecturer
Email: m.roberts@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8802

Field of research: Contract, torts, vicarious liability, negligence

Arie Rosen | Senior Lecturer
Email: a.rosen@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 6738

Field of research: Legal philosophy, philosophy of private law, theory of contract law, politics of private law

Warren Swain | Professor
Email: w.swain@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 1275

Field of research: Legal History, Contract, Tort, Restitution, Legal Biography

Susan Watson | Professor
Email: s.watson@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599

Field of research: The legal relationship between shareholders and boards, the role of the board, corporate governance, the liability of company directors and professionals, the relationship between leadership and governance, the development of internal rules in companies

Peter Watts | Professor
Email: pg.watts@auckland.ac.nz

Field of research: Agency law, company law, law of restitution

On leave until August 2020.

Hanna Wilberg | Associate Professor
Email: h.wilberg@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 4232

Field of research: Administrative law, tort liability of public authorities, and the law of torts generally

Courses available in Contract, Torts, Equity and Private Law

Undergraduate courses

  • LAW 131 - Legal Method
  • LAW 231 - Torts
  • LAW 241 - Contract
  • LAW 301 - Land Law
  • LAW 306 - Equity
  • LAWCOMM 426 - Law and Information Technology
  • LAWCOMM 427 - Vendor and Purchaser
  • LAWCOMM 442 - Law and Personal Property
  • LAWCOMM 429 - Advanced Tort
  • LAWGENRL 422 - Women and the Law
  • LAWGENRL 427 - Equitable Remedies
  • LAWGENRL 432 - Healthcare Law
  • LAWGENRL 438 - Housing Law and Policy
  • LAWGENRL 445 - The History of the Law of Obligations
  • LAWGENRL 450 - Public Authority Liability
  • LAWPUBL 453 - Privacy Law
  • LAWCOMM 455 - Theories of Contract Law

Honours courses

  • LAWHONS 721 - Media Law
  • LAWHONS 722 - Medico-Legal Problems
  • LAWHONS 733 - Studies in Contract Law
  • LAWHONS 739AB - Theoretical Foundations of Private Law
  • LAWHONS 747 - Restitution

Postgraduate courses

  • LAWCOMM 720 - Law of Insurance Contracts
  • LAWCOMM 742 - Remedies Law
  • LAWComm 778 - Special Topic: Selected Topics in Tort Law