Corporate and Commercial Law

The Auckland Law School, based in New Zealand’s largest commercial centre, has long had private law and commercial law as one of its strengths.

We offer an LLM degree with a specialisation in Commercial Law, and a wide range of electives in that degree, and in the LLB and LLB(Hons) degrees.

The courses in the LLM are taught by a combination of the faculty’s permanent staff, staff of the Department of Commercial Law in the Faculty of Business and Economics, distinguished overseas academics and senior law practitioners.

The faculty is home to the New Zealand Centre for Law and Business which has a primary goal of facilitating interdisciplinary research connecting law and business, with a strong focus on the interface between the two.

Academic staff researchers and teachers

The following members of staff conduct teaching, research and postgraduate supervision in the area of Corporate and Commercial Law.

Rob Batty | Senior Lecturer
Email: r.batty@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 4370

Field of research: Trade mark law, intellectual property

Francis Dawson | Professor
Email: f.dawson@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 9413

Field of research: Contract, equity, legal history

Craig Elliffe | Professor
Email: c.elliffe@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8990

Field of research: International tax, tax avoidance, tax reform

Rohan Havelock | Senior Lecturer
Email: r.havelock@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8020

Field of research: Insurance law, equity and equitable remedies, unjust enrichment and restitution, private law taxonomy, building and construction law

An Hertogen | Senior Lecturer
Email: an.hertogen@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 1129

Field of research: Regulation of economic activity by states, competition and consumer law

Amokura Kawharu | Associate Professor
Email: a.kawharu@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 6397

Field of research: International commercial arbitration, investment arbitration, international economic regulation, international disputes settlement

Michael Littlewood | Professor
Email: m.littlewood@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 5633

Field of research: New Zealand Tax, Hong Kong tax, Chinese tax, international tax, comparative tax, tax planning, tax policy, the politics of taxation, tax history, constitutional aspects of taxation

Chris Noonan | Associate Professor
Email: c.noonan@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 7444

Field of research: International competition law, World Trade Organisation, regional economic integration

Marcus Roberts | Senior Lecturer
Email: m.roberts@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 8802

Field of research: Contract, torts, vicarious liability, negligence

Richard Scragg | Honorary Academic
Email: rj.scragg@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 x81973

Field of research: Credit and personal property security law, legal ethics, legal system, professional legal education.

Paul Sumpter | Senior Lecturer
Email: p.sumpter@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 6459

Field of research: Copyright, trademarks, biotechnology and patents, confidential information, designs, commercial licensing of IP

Warren Swain | Professor
Email: w.swain@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 1275

Field of research: Legal History, Contract, Tort, Restitution, Legal Biography

Susan Watson | Professor
Email: s.watson@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 373 7599

Field of research: The legal relationship between shareholders and boards, the role of the board, corporate governance, the liability of company directors and professionals, the relationship between leadership and governance, the development of internal rules in companies

Peter Watts | Professor
Email: pg.watts@auckland.ac.nz
Phone: +64 9 923 7829

Field of research: Agency law, company law, law of restitution

Courses available in Corporate and Commercial Law

Subject to availability the following courses may be offered:

Undergraduate courses

Postgraduate courses