Our people

Meet the members and staff of the New Zealand Centre for Human Rights Law Policy and Practice.

The Human Rights Centre is a departmental Centre responsible to the Dean of Auckland Law School.

An Advisory Board, drawn from members of the judiciary, the legal profession and the University, provides guidance to the Centre staff and advice to the Dean on the Centre’s development.

The Centre currently has a part-time Director responsible for strategic planning and day-to-day operations. The Director reports to the Dean and the Advisory Board.

Visiting research fellows may use the Centre as a base for their research activities.

Rosslyn Noonan

Advisory Board members

Auckland University members

Professor Ron Paterson (Chairperson)
Professor Paul Rishworth
Associate Professor Anaru Erueti


Justice Lynton Stevens

Legal profession

Andrew Butler
Deborah Manning
Adam Ross
Jesse Wilson


Rosslyn Noonan

Rosslyn Noonan was New Zealand’s Chief Human Rights Commissioner from 2001 to 2011. From 2010 to 2012 she chaired the global body of national human rights institutions. She works with national human rights institutions across Asia and the Pacific and advises government on the establishment and strengthening of national human rights institutions. In 2018 she was appointed as the chairperson of the Independent Panel reviewing the family justice services as they relate to the Care of Children Act 2004. She has worked on recognition of the Treaty of Waitangi, women’s rights, gender issues including gender identity and expression, disability rights and non-discrimination on the basis of race and ethnicity.

Research fellow

Sylvia Bell

Sylvia Bell is recognised as one of New Zealand’s pre-eminent experts on the Human Rights Act 1993 and on mental health law and human rights. She has published extensively on both. As Principal Legal & Policy Analyst at the Human Rights Commission from 2005 to 2015, she led the development of the Commission’s intervention programme in cases with a human rights dimension.

Founding Director: 2012-2013 Kris Gledhill
Founding Deputy Director: 2012-2013 Chris Mahony