This issue's cover image is of the night sky taken from the Southern Ocean shoreline near Christchurch, New Zealand. Photo: Babak Tafreshi - an award-winning photographer, a science journalist and the founder of The World at Night programme.

Download a PDF of the latest issue, and access our archived issues.

inSCight PDF
Professor Guglielmo Aglietti, Director of Te Pūnaha Ātea

Professor Guglielmo Aglietti has been appointed as the inaugural Director of Te Pūnaha Ātea – Auckland Space Institute.

Read more
Professor John Hosking, Dean of Science

Welcome to the 2019 edition of inSCight. This issue is themed ‘Science in space'.

Read a word from the Dean
Professor Juliet Gerrard and Marta Mager in front of the White House, Washington DC.

More than a few researchers we meet on our travels raise an amused, sceptical eyebrow at the thought of Kiwis being among those with an interest in space...

Read more
Dr Héloïse Stevance (left) and Dr JJ Eldridge in the Centre for eResearch Visualisation Suite in front of representations of binary stars

One of New Zealand’s most valuable export fish species is about to take on a new persona in the world of astronomy...

Read more
Senior technician Esther Stuck (left) launching the drone

Space research is playing an influential role in a very down-to-earth project that aims to unlock the biological secrets of the Hauraki Gulf.

Find out more
Faculty of Science alumnus, Joshua Rippon

Physics alumnus Joshua Rippon’s childhood fascination with the Universe has led to a dream job with Rocket Lab where he can indulge his passion for space.

Alumni story
Faculty of Science Alumna, Yaoyao Ding

Biotechnology and Materials Engineering alumna Yaoyao Ding is an entrepreneur making her own mark on the world.

Alumni story
The Matariki star cluster (courtesy of the Stardome Observatory)

Best apps, websites, Matariki and why the Milky Way smells like rum...

Find out more
Perspectives on Life in the Universe, Vice-Chancellor's Lecture Series 2019 image

Are we alone? Is there life elsewhere? How did life begin? These are some of the questions the University of Auckland’s Te Ao Mārama – Centre for Fundamental Inquiry focuses its attention on.

Read more
Champagne Pool, Wai-O-Tapu, Rotorua.

The relentless quest to prove whether there once was life on Mars is a key driver behind two trans-Tasman research initiatives.

Read more
LSST at sunset, Cerro Pachón, Chile. Photo: W O'Mullane/LSST Project/NSF/AURA

In 2022 a next-generation telescope fitted with the world’s largest digital camera will start to capture the first 'motion picture' of the Universe.

Find out more
Anastasiya Kiddle

Anastasiya Kiddle is the youngest member of 2018 CubeSat competition winners, Kessler, and responsible for tether operations research.

Student story
Amelia Cordwell

Amelia Cordwell has a curious mind and an enduring love and respect for physics and the scientific study of space.

Student story
Contact us if you want to subscribe, update your details or have a story to tell

We'd love to hear from you, so please get in touch.

Contact us
Connect with Faculty of Science

Science is social – we encourage you to engage with us on Facebook and Twitter.

Connect with Science