FAQs for staff

Answers to commonly asked questions about course and teaching evaluations.

How is the Canvas ‘Teacher’ Role related to SET evaluations?

The 'Teacher' role in Canvas is the source of the data for SET that links teachers with courses they teach. A ‘Teacher’ role in Canvas must be given to all staff who teach a course, including on concurrently-taught and cross-listed courses.

Course Directors who teach on a course need to also have a ‘Teacher’ role in Canvas. Canvas roles must be accurate and confirmed by Week 3.


Is a Course Director evaluated in SET?

If a Course Director teaches on a course, she/he must be given a 'Teacher' role in Canvas to be linked with the course evaluated in SET.

If a Course Director does not also teach on a course they do not require a 'Teacher' role in Canvas.

 

I am a contract teacher – will my teaching be evaluated?

Yes, if you have a significant teaching role.  This means that you have teaching and other course responsibilities equivalent to at least that performed by a PTF. 

You must also have an established University identity. For more information see Identity and Access Management.

The final decision about whether you are eligible for evaluation will be made by the Associate Dean (Academic) in your faculty, in consultation with your Academic Head and Course Director. 

 

As a contract teacher who has been evaluated, will I see my teaching report and the course report?

Yes, you will as long as you have provided the University with a preferred University email address.

 

What if I am incorrectly listed in SET as a teacher on a course?

If you receive a notification before the evaluation starts, please ask your Course Coordinator to update your role in Canvas.

If you discover you are incorrectly associated with a course after the evaluation opens, please inform your Associate Dean (Academic; Teaching and Learning) to discuss possible solutions with Academic Quality Office.

This applies to situations where a teacher has to be changed in the middle of a semester due to unforeseen circumstances.


Can I opt out of a SET evaluation?

No. All eligible courses and the teachers associated with that course are evaluated each time the course is taught.


How do I seek student feedback if I teach a small course under the eligibility threshold (10 students or more)?

Alternative surveying approaches (e.g. Qualtrics) may be used although other means of evaluating the course may be more appropriate. See the CLeaR guide to formative evaluation via Qualtrics for more information.  


What should I tell my students about SET?

The most important messages for students are:

  • Please complete the evaluations, when you are invited to give feedback!
  • Feedback through SET evaluations is important to individual teachers, and to the University, and will make a different in future iterations of the course
  • Feedback should be honest and constructive
  • Their feedback is secure, anonymous and confidential.

There is a PowerPoint presentation available for use in class you might consider as the message for students. To access the PowerPoint, see the Resources page.


Can I remain in the room while my students complete evaluations on devices?

Yes, although some teachers prefer to have a professional staff member administer the survey if done in class on devices.


Why is my individual SET Report 'greyed out' in the Dashboard?

When a SET Course and Teaching Report is 'greyed out' in your dashboard, and 'Not Met' appears after the SET report name, it means that the number of responses received for that evaluation is fewer than 5, and an individual teaching report will not be made available.

You may choose to obtain a copy of the SET Course Report from the Course Director and/or Academic Head. The SET Course Report does not include summarised results of teaching questions.


How do I interpret SET reports?

For individual academic staff, a Quick Guide has been developed for interpreting the information in your SET report, and for providing feedback to students.

For Deans, Associate Deans, and Heads of Department, a Quick Guide to Academic Unit and/or Faculty SET Reports has been developed. To access these guides, see the Resources page.


How do I treat inappropriate comments in my SET reports?

Open-ended comments will be provided to staff unedited. Academic staff who are concerned about a comment in a SET report should consult Information for Staff on Inappropriate Comments in SET Evaluations.


How do I share evaluation outcomes with my current and future students?

The most important thing to do with SET evaluation is to respond to the feedback presented, regardless of whether changes can be made. This can usually be done through Canvas, and through a briefing to next year's class about what changes have been made. If no changes are going to be made, give an explanation. Students appreciate having their feedback taken seriously.

Write up what you did, the feedback you got, and how you intend to respond to that feedback. Keep this as a record of your reflective practice – it will prove valuable as you develop your teaching practice, or when you want to provide evidence of teaching effectiveness for other purposes.

 

How do I get historical evaluation reports (from the former Cecil system)?

Cecil-based reports to the courses pages are kept in CECIL Enterprise Learning Management System. The evaluation reports can be retrieved, please take the following steps:

  • Select “Student Evaluation” under STAFF LINKS on the left side panel of the CECIL homepage (Please bookmark this page for you to come back and get more reports in the future).
  • Enter your UPI and password to open Student Evaluation of Courses, Teaching and Tutoring.
  • Use the drop-down menu at the top to select the year in which you wish to view courses
  • A link to view available reports is provided in the right hand column


I am a tutor, GTA or demonstrator - how do I evaluate my teaching?

Tutors, graduate teaching assistants and demonstrators can seek feedback on their teaching using formative evaluation - for example, a quick survey.

 

How are low response rates, report configuration threshold, and apparent outliers demonstrated in SET and SMR?

SET Course and Teaching Report includes a 'sliding' target response rate based on class sizes (see table below).  Staff may use this as a reference when providing feedback to students to 'close the loop', and also to plan a 'Bring Your Own Device' session to maximise response rates in future iterations of SET evaluations.

SET Course and Teaching Report (individual report) requires 5 or more responses to be configured and distributed after evaluations are closed.  Course and teaching evaluations with fewer than 5 would show as 'greyed out' reports.

In the case of apparent outliers in a course or teaching evaluation response, it is not the usual practice of the Academic Quality Office to 'clean' the data by removing these responses. Staff might consider including an explanatory note for the apparent outliers when using SET reports.

Class size Low response rate
<40 students under 50%
40 - 199 students under 40%
> = 200 students under 30%

Who do I contact in my faculty if I have questions about SET?

    Faculty Contacts  
ARTS Lindsay Diggelmann

l.diggelmann@auckland.ac.nz

Associate Dean (Learning & Teaching)
ARTS Sushila Pinto s.pinto@auckland.ac.nz Group Services Manager
ARTS Alison Salmon aj.salmon@auckland.ac.nz Group Services Team Lead
B&E Susan Laurenson s.laurenson@auckland.ac.nz Associate Dean (Academic)
B&E Judy Bonny j.bonny@auckland.ac.nz Group Services Manager
B&E - GSM only Nino Murjikneli n.murjikneli@auckland.ac.nz Programme Manager
CAI Carol Brown carol.brown@auckland.ac.nz Associate
Dean (Learning & Teaching, Acting)
CAI Robyn Taylor-Wright r.taylor-wright@auckland.ac.nz Group Services Manager
EDSW Rena Heap r.heap@auckland.ac.nz Associate Dean (Teaching & Learning, Acting)
EDSW Samantha Lafaialii s.lafaialii@auckland.ac.nz

Group Services Manager
EDSW Christine Whyte c.whyte@auckland.ac.nz Group Services Team Lead
ENG Gerard Rowe gb.rowe@auckland.ac.nz Deputy Dean (Academic)
ENG Carol Home c.home@auckland.ac.nz Group Services Manager
LAW Rob Batty r.batty@auckland.ac.nz Associate Dean (Academic, Acting)
LAW Louise Allan l.allan@auckland.ac.nz Student Academic Services & Engagement Manager
MHS Bridget Kool b.kool@auckland.ac.nz Associate Dean (Academic)
MHS Anoshi Atapattu a.atapattu@auckland.ac.nz Faculty Administrator (Acting)
SCI Julia Novak j.novak@auckland.ac.nz Associate Dean (Teaching & Learning)
SCI Anoma Ratnayake a.ratnayake@auckland.ac.nz Group Services Team Lead