National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards

37 national awards have been won by our teachers.

Introduced by the government in 2001, the Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards are nationally contested awards, giving recognition to outstanding tertiary teachers.

Up to 10 awards of $20,000 are made annually, under the General and Kaupapa Māori categories. The winner of the Prime Minister's Supreme Award is chosen from among the recipients, and receives an additional $10,000.

2021 national award winners

Two University of Auckland staff have received national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards in the 2021 round:

  • Dr Brendon Dunphy, Faculty of Science
  • Dr Te Oti Rakena, Faculty of Creative Arts & Industries

Dr Rakena was nominated in the Kaupapa Māori category and Dr Dunphy in the General category. Dr Rakena was additionally awarded the ‘Excellence in supporting Pacific learners’ endorsement.

A total of nine awards were made in 2021 across the tertiary education sector. The Prime Minister’s Supreme Award will be selected from among the nine awardees and will be announced at a ceremony on 21 September.

Teaching excellence at The University of Auckland

Find out what makes an excellent teacher from Director of Teaching and Learning Dr Kevin Morris and our 2013 national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award winners.

Take a look at our previous national award winners here: 2002-2007, 2008-2011, 2012-2017, 2018-