Three Minute Thesis 2021

Find 2021 competition details, dates, entry forms and resources.

The challenge

Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is an exciting, fast-paced research communication competition. It was developed by the University of Queensland and is now held annually in over 900 universities across the globe. Participants take up the challenge to share the story of their research with a general audience in under three minutes, supported by nothing more than a single, static slide.

2021 3MT finalists

Heat Winner
ABI  Doctoral winner: Derek Orbaugh
Science  Doctoral winner: Luke Boyle
Doctoral runner-up: Amy Renelle
Masters winner: Sebastian Dunn
Masters runner-up: Rachel Lawson
Education and Social Work Doctoral winner: Georgi Toma 
Arts Doctoral winner: Prakriti Vashishtha
Engineering  Doctoral winner: Krish Chaudhuri, 
Doctoral runner-up: Danial Jahanshahi
Open heat Doctoral winner: Joseph Chen (FMHS)
Masters winner: Riley Scott (Law)
Business and Economics Doctoral winner: Sneha Gray
Doctoral runner-up: Sam Mackay

Note: Faculties with high numbers of competitiors were able to put runner-up students into the 3MT University of Auckland Final.

Competition finals

Date Event
Friday 30 July
Finals practice session (finalists only)
Friday 6 August
University of Auckland Final
Postponed (due to Covid-19 lockdown) Inter-University Masters Final
Thursday 16 September U21 Three Minute Thesis Competition deadline
Wednesday 20 October Asia-Pacific Final

Ready to start your 3MT experience?