Three Minute Thesis 2021

Find 2021 competition details, dates, entry forms and resources.

The challenge

Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is an exciting, fast-paced research communication competition. It was developed by the University of Queensland and is now held annually in over 900 universities across the globe. Participants take up the challenge to share the story of their research with a general audience in under three minutes, supported by nothing more than a single, static slide.

Why take part?

Three Minute Thesis is so much more than great prizes, making friends and having fun. It’s valuable practice in communicating research clearly and concisely to a general audience. When you join in, you can:

  • Develop your ability to craft an engaging research story
  • Build up your presentation and public speaking skills
  • Enrich your peer and industry networks
  • Increase your confidence and your employability
  • Gain exposure for your research - prizes include the opportunity to present your research to a national or international audience

2021 competition dates

Competition heats

Date Event
Wednesday 14 April ABI heat
Tuesday 8 June Education and Social Work
Monday 14 June Science heat
Thursday 15 July Engineering heat
Tuesday 20 July
Open heat (Law, Liggins and FMHS)
Friday 23 July
Business and Economics heat
TBC
Arts heat
TBC
CAI heat

Competition finals

Date Event
Friday 30 July
Finals practice session (finalists only)
Friday 6 August
University of Auckland Final
Thursday 26 August Inter-University Masters Final
Thursday 16 September U21 Three Minute Thesis Competition deadline
Wednesday 20 October Asia-Pacific Final

Ready to start your 3MT experience?