Top Tips for SRB, including faculty contacts

Resources and forms of support for students from refugee backgrounds, including faculty contacts.

Sama Nde - student from refugee background
Sama Nde is working on a PhD
  • The Equity Policy highlights the University’s commitment to being safe, inclusive and equitable.
  • The University’s Equity Office – Te Ara Tautika is here to help. The Office is committed to ensure the University is safe, inclusive and equitable. See Equity at the University.

Faculty contacts for students from refugee backgrounds

If you are a student from a refugee background and would like to discuss
how the University can support you with your faculty, please get in touch with the relevant faculty contacts.*

Faculty/LSRI Who to contact
Arts Student Development and Engagement Team artsengagement@auckland.ac.nz
ABI

Jugir Hussan, research fellow, r.jagir@auckland.ac.nz

ABI Equity Committee

Business and Economics Lisa Filitonga, Student Academic Adviser, l.filitonga@auckland.ac.nz
Creative Arts and Industries Tom Owen, PTF - Architecture, t.owen@auckland.ac.nz
Education and Social Work Denise McKay, d.mckay@auckland.ac.nz  
Engineering Alcione Fagundes, student support adviser, a.fagundes@auckland.ac.nz
Law Dr An Hertogen, an.hertogen@auckland.ac.nz
Liggins Jen Rogers, Equity Committee chair, jenny.rogers@auckland.ac.nz
Medical and Health Sciences

Meg Davis, student support adviser, meg.davis@auckland.ac.nz

Daniel Heke, student support adviser, d.heke@auckland.ac.nz

Science  Erica Farrelly, e.farrelly@auckland.ac.nz

* While we update this information regularly, at times, details may be out-of-date. If you have found it difficult to contact the relevant faculty adviser, please let the Equity Office - Te Ara Tautika know: equity@auckland.ac.nz

University decision-making

Students from Refugee Backgrounds (SRB) Advisory Board – with student representation. This group meets quarterly. At this meeting, staff from the Equity Office Te Ara Tautika provide updates to, and seek advice from, students from refugee backgrounds, researchers in the area, faculty equity representatives and staff from Refugees as Survivors.