New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships

These scholarships provide opportunities for individuals from selected developing Commonwealth countries to undertake postgraduate study in New Zealand.

Commonwealth Scholarships play an important role in addressing human resource development needs of developing countries.

The scholarships are awarded to candidates of strong academic merit who are expected to make a significant contribution to the development of their home country following completion of their studies.

Who is eligible?

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are available to citizens of these countries in the Commonwealth:

Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia.

Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Malaysia.

Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

You can visit the New Zealand Foreign Affairs and Trade website to check eligibility.

How do I apply?

For information on the application process, visit How to apply for a New Zealand Scholarship.