Health Sciences


Health Sciences is an 'umbrella' qualification covering all postgraduate courses  offered by the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences. However most courses on the Master of Health Science schedule are more usually taken towards either a specialisation under health sciences (listed below) or another named qualification such as a Postgraduate Diploma in Clinical Education, Health Psychology, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Public Health, or a Master of Health Leadership or Master of Audiology.

It is possible in some circumstances though, to choose courses, under academic advice, that are not under a specialisation, by choosing a general health sciences plan. 

Areas of study

Most students applying for a health sciences programme are working in the health sector and choose part-time study in a specialisation in their area. Specialisations include:

  • Advanced Nursing
  • Alcohol and Drug Studies
  • Child and Adolescent Mental Health
  • Health Informatics
  • Health Promotion
  • Mammography (Postgraduate Certificate level)
  • Magnetic Resonance Imaging
  • Medical Imaging
  • Mental Health Nursing
  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Optometry
  • Pacific Health
  • Palliative Care
  • Pharmaceutical Science
  • Population Mental Health
  • Sports Medicine (Postgraduate Certificate level)
  • Ultrasound
  • Women's Health (Postgraduate Certificate level)
  • Youth Health

You can study Health Sciences in the following programmes:

What you will learn

Master of Health Sciences schedule

It should be noted that a number of the courses on the schedule are restricted to students currently working clinically in that area and taking one of the specialisations under Health Sciences.

Career opportunities

Courses taken towards a named specialisation help health professionals working in the field of the specialisation to gain expertise in the theory and practice of the subject studied.