Elam artists well represented at the Wallace Awards

04 September 2018
Refusal to Yield by Imogen Taylor
Refusal to Yield by Imogen Taylor

The 27th Annual Wallace Art Awards 2018 were held last night in Auckland with graduates from Elam School of Fine Arts dominating the proceedings by winning six of the nine awards.

Imogen Taylor won this year’s Wallace Arts Trust Paramount Award with her work Refusal to Yield. The artist graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) and a Postgraduate Diploma from Elam. Her winning entry was described by the judges as ‘a bold, memorable, confident and deeply informed painting.’ Imogen’s prize is a six-month residency at the International Studio and Curatorial Program in New York.

Peata Larkin, who graduated with a BFA from Elam, won the Kaipara Wallace Arts Trust Award with her work They Don’t Speak My Language. Featuring acrylic paint on embroidered silk, the judges described the artwork as ‘delicate, intelligent and considered.'  Peata’s prize is a three-month residency at the Altes Spital in Solothurn, Switzerland.

Andrea du Chatenier, who also has a BFA from Elam, won the Wallace Arts Trust Vermont Award with her work Untitled (Celestial Blue Cave Drawing). The judges said her porcelain and earthenware piece was ‘a little bit magic, fragile and gutsy all at once.’ Andrea’s prize is a three-month residency at the Vermont Studio Centre in the USA.

Brett Graham, who has a Doctorate in Fine Arts from Elam, received the First Runner-up Award for his work 90 00’s 00 00’E. The judges commented that his work had ‘big themes, big finish and was a powerful use of materials.’ Brett received a cash prize of $2,500.

Yvonne Shaw, who graduated with a Postgraduate Diploma in Fine Arts with Distinction from Elam won the Second Runner-up Award with her work The Residual No. 8. She also received $2,500.

Additionally, the Martin Tate Wallace Artist Residency Award went to graduate Richard Maloy, who has a Masters of Fine Arts from Elam. This prize is by invitation only and is given to a senior artist who is unlikely to apply for a Wallace Art Award. Richard receives a three-month residency in Vladivostok, Russia.

The Wallace Art Awards were established in 1992 by Sir James Wallace. This year’s judges included Linda Tyler, Mark Braunias and Joyce Campbell for the Wallace Arts Trust Paramount Award, the Kaipara Wallace Arts Trust Award and the Wallace Arts Trust Vermont Award. The judges for the Fulbright-Wallace Award were Linda Tyler, Simon Morris and Richard Maloy. The judges for the BSR Wallace New Zealand Residence Award were Andrew Drummond, Simon Ogden and Deborah Rundle.

The exhibition of finalists’ work will be on display at the Pah Homestead until 4 November before touring the country.

The University of Auckland congratulates all this year’s winners.