Important dates

Find out when your study starts, when you have exams and when you have breaks.

2023 Academic year

Summer School 2023 (Term code: 1230)

Summer School begins Thursday 5 January 2023
Auckland Anniversary Day observed Monday 30 January 2023
Waitangi Day Monday 6 February 2023
Lectures end Friday 10 February 2023
Study break Saturday 11 February 2023
Exams Monday 13 February 2023 – Wednesday 15 February 2023
Summer School ends Wednesday 15 February 2023

Semester One 2023 (Term code: 1233)

Orientation Welcome In week beginning 20 February 2023
Graduation (Tai Tokerau) TBC
Semester One begins Monday 27 February 2023
Mid-semester break/Easter Friday 7 April 2023 - Friday 21 April 2023
ANZAC Day Tuesday 25 April 2023
Graduation Tuesday 2 May 2023 - Thursday 4 May 2023
Lectures end  Friday 2 June 2023
King's Birthday
Monday 5 June 2023
Study break Tuesday 6 June 2023 - Wednesday 7 June 2023
Exams Thursday 8 June 2023 - Monday 26 June 2023
Semester One ends Monday 26 June 2023
Inter-semester break Tuesday 27 June - Friday 14 July 2023
Matariki Friday 14 July 2023

Semester Two 2023 (Term code: 1235)

Orientation Welcome In week beginning 10 July 2023
Semester Two begins Monday 17 July 2023
Open Day TBC
Mid-semester break Monday 28 August 2023 - Friday 8 September 2023
Graduation Monday 18 September 2023 - Tuesday 19 September 2023
Lectures end Friday 20 October 2023
Labour Day Monday 23 October 2023
Study break Tuesday 24 October 2023 - Wednesday 25 October 2023
Exams Thursday 26 October 2023 - Monday 13 November 2023
Semester Two ends Monday 13 November 2023

Late Year Term 2023 (Term code: 1237)

Late Year Term begins
Thursday 1 December 2023
Late Year Term ends TBC

Quarter One 2023 (Term code: 1232)

Quarter One begins Monday 9 January 2023  
Auckland Anniversary Day observed
Monday 30 January 2023

 
Waitangi Day Monday 6 February 2023  
Quarter One lectures end Friday 17 March 2023  
Quarter One study break Monday 20 March 2023 Friday 24 March 2023
Quarter One examinations Saturday 25 March 2023  
Quarter One ends Saturday 25 March 2023  
Inter-quarter break Monday 27 March 2023 Friday 31 March 2023

Quarter Two 2023 (Term code: 1234)

Quarter Two begins Monday 3 April 2023  
Easter holiday Friday 7 April 2023 Tuesday 11 April 2023
ANZAC Day Tuesday 25 April 2023  
Graduation Tuesday 2 May 2023 Thursday 4 May 2023
King's Birthday Monday 5 June 2023  
Quarter Two lectures end Friday 9 June 2023  
Quarter Two study break Monday 12 June 2023 Friday 16 June 2023
Quarter Two examinations Saturday 17 June 2023  
Quarter Two ends Saturday 17 June 2023  
Inter-quarter break Monday 19 June 2023 Friday 23 June 2023

Quarter Three 2023 (Term code: 1236)

Quarter Three begins Monday 26 June 2023  
Matariki Friday 14 July 2023  
Quarter Three lectures end Friday 1 September 2023  
Quarter Three study break Monday 4 September 2023 Friday 8 September 2023
Quarter Three examinations Saturday 9 September 2023  
Quarter Three ends Saturday 9 September 2023  
Inter-quarter break Monday 11 September 2023 Friday 15 September 2023

Quarter Four 2022 (Term code: 1228)

Quarter Four begins Monday 18 September 2023  
Graduation Monday 18 September 2023 Tuesday 19 September 2023
Labour Day Monday 23 October 2023  
Quarter Four lectures end Friday 24 November 2023  
Quarter Four study break Monday 27 November 2023 Friday 1 December 2023
Quarter Four examinations Saturday 2 December 2023  
Quarter Four ends Saturday 2 December 2023  

Past and future academic dates

The University Calendar shows the academic dates for future years on the page Past and future semester dates.

Application closing dates

To make sure you get your Application for Admission in on time, you can visit: