Our faculties

The University of Auckland conducts teaching and learning within eight faculties, two large-scale research institutes, and other institutes and centres.

Offering the largest range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses in New Zealand, the Auckland Law School is ranked among the best law schools in the world.


The Faculty of Arts is the home of the humanities, social sciences, languages, and indigenous studies at the University of Auckland.


The Business School has an unconditional commitment to quality teaching and research in topics that are forward-focused and relevant to the commercial world.

Business School

A respected centre for creativity, research, teaching and practice, offering undergraduate and postgraduate study of a wide range of creative disciplines.

Creative Arts and Industries

We are committed to improving the quality and understanding of education and social services through high quality teaching, research and development.

Education and Social Work

We are committed to creating an environment where people thrive and contribute to improving the quality of life in national and global communities


We are the largest and most diverse faculty with more than 4,000 students studying across our six schools, led by world-leading researchers and lecturers.


We are the largest and most highly ranked science faculty in New Zealand. More than 7,000 students study in our 10 schools and departments.


Our vision is 'a healthy start for a healthy life'. Our mission is to improve life-long health through excellent research into the long-term consequences.


Our research deals with the application of mathematical and engineering sciences to biology and human physiology.


A variety of institutes and centres across the University enable cross-disciplinary research.

Other research