Emerging recommendations available in report

The Sustainability Working Group has developed a report to support the taumata (Curriculum Framework Transformation principles) and the subset of sustainability emerging recommendations in the Curriculum Framework (CF) Consultation Paper. This Supporting Report captures our proposals and has comprehensive appendices detailing our consultation and research findings. The Report is not finalised; it represents the current state of ideas that lay the groundwork for emphasising sustainability in the Waipapa ‎Taumata ‎Rau | University of Auckland curriculum. These ideas will continue to be developed ahead of formal consultation in July/Aug 2022.


Sustainability features strongly in Taumata Teitei and is one of the “hallmark elements” in the Curriculum Framework Transformation (CFT) Programme’s vision for a distinctive Waipapa Taumata Rau | University of Auckland student experience.

The Sustainability Working Group has been established to develop an aspirational vision for education for sustainability at Waipapa Taumata Rau | University of Auckland, based on Taumata Teitei; to map how we are currently achieving this vision; identify major gaps; and recommend structures and initiatives that will take the University towards this vision.

Our work involves information gathering and consultation within and beyond the University, and will inform the development of the Sustainability Strategy.


The ‘leading transition’ priority in Taumata Teitei has been expanded in other University documentation to include reference to abundance, i.e., Leading transition to sustainable and abundant ecosystems. This simple definition clearly signals the importance of the natural world and that sustainability is about more than preservation of the status quo.

Te Ao Māori principles articulated in Taumata Teitei (kaitiakitanga, manaakitanga and whanaungatanga) are aligned with sustainability, as is the concept of whakapapa. Sustainability is about relationships, honouring life and the planet, ensuring continuity into the future, and practical outcomes such as tangible reductions in our institution’s waste and greenhouse gas emissions.


The Sustainability Working Group is led by Niki Harre (Science), Alistair Woodward (Medical and Health Sciences), Alys Longley (Creative Arts and Industries), Jaime King (Law), and Charlotte Blythe (Science, formerly Sustainability Office).

It currently includes the following members: Rachel Wolfgramm, Hanoku Bathula, and Lesley Gardner (Business); Daniel Hikuroa and Linda Tyler (Arts); Barbara Ribeiro and Gabriela Baron (Creative Arts and Industries); Sally Birdsall (Education and Social Work); Andrea Kolb, Assad Shamseldin, Cody Mankelow, Febelyn Reguyal and Rolando Orense (Engineering); Seb Barfoot and Gigi Lim (Medical and Health Sciences); Jacqueline Beggs, Joe Fagan and Andrea Mead (Science); Ayden Fuller (Sustainability Office); and Stephanie Reid (Office of the Vice-Chancellor).

Our approach has included looking at trends in the tertiary education sector nationally and internationally. We have worked closely with other CFT groups, including the Transdisciplinarity, Innovation and Entrepreneurship (TIE) and Learning and Teaching Delivery groups, and have had input into the proposed new Graduate Profile.

We have established a Sustainability Community of Interest via an email distribution list that includes updates on key developments in the CFT and Sustainability Strategy development processes. All staff and doctoral students are welcome to join the mailing list, by emailing Charlotte Blythe.

Get in touch

If you would like to share your thoughts on the ideas raised by the Sustainability working group, or learn more about the wider programme of work, please email the Curriculum Framework Transformation Programme at