Key statistics

The University of Auckland is New Zealand’s largest research organisation with more than 13,000 staff and postgraduate students involved in fundamental and applied research. It generates around $230 million in annual research revenue. In the New Zealand government’s assessment of research output and quality, the Performance Based Research Fund (PBRF), we are the top performer in all three PBRF component areas: Research Quality Evaluation, Research Degree Completions and External Research Income.

In the most recent (2018) evaluation, the University of Auckland:

  • Had 33% of the top rated researchers in the whole country.
  • Gained 31% of the funding based on research degree completions and 33% of the funding based on external research income.
  • Gained 30% of the funding overall, thereby confirming its position as the nation’s premier research institution.

More on the University of Auckland's Research.

More on the University's PBRF results.

Gender and graduation rates

  • Graduation rates are calculated at five years out from the year where the cohort began studying. For example, in 2026 we look at students who started their programmes in 2021.
  • Different programmes have different base lengths, and in most cases, students are not required to take a full schedule of courses in any given semester, or to limit themselves to only courses that count towards their programme. 
  • We report here the percentage of students who completed their programme within five years of starting. It is important to note that a student not meeting this particular cut-off does not necessarily mean that they never finished (or never will finish) their programme.
  • Completion rates for male and female students are similar at all levels and for all starting years shown below, ranging from a 3.1% advantage for male students at the Postgraduate level who started in 2020, to a 2.9% advantage for female students at the Doctoral level who started in 2019.
  • Cohorts with fewer than 50 students are not shown. 

5-Year completion rates by gender and programme level enrolment strat from 2017 to 2021

 5-Year Completion Rates by Gender and Programme Level

Gender distribution of students by programme level, 2017–2021

Starting Year  Programme Level   Female %   Male %   Diverse %
2017 Doctorate  61% 59% n/a
2017 Postgraduate  78% 81% n/a
2017 Undergraduate  56% 54% n/a
2018 Doctorate  61% 62% n/a
2018 Postgraduate 79% 81% n/a
2018 Undergraduate 56% 54% n/a
2019 Doctorate 56% 53% n/a
2019 Postgraduate 78% 81% n/a
2019 Undergraduate 57% 57% 52%
2020 Doctorate 57% 59% n/a
2020 Postgraduate 78% 81% n/a
2020 Undergraduate 56% 54% 44%
2021 Doctorate 54% 57% n/a
2021 Postgraduate 76% 76% n/a
2021 Undergraduate 53% 51%
50%

Acceptance and enrolment by gender

  • Applications are tabulated by the number of unique applicants at a given level, and in a given year. For example, if someone made five applications at an undergraduate level in 2025, received three offers, and enrolled in one programme, they would only be counted as one applicant, one offer, and one enrolment.
  • Women made up a majority of applicants at both the undergraduate and postgraduate level, while in most years, men made up a slightly larger percentage of doctoral applications.
  • Because the doctoral pool is the smallest of the three, women applying to the University outnumbered men overall (in 2025, 43,252 women vs. 35,770 men).
  • Applications submitted by women were more likely in all years and at all levels to result in an offer being made. 
  • At an undergraduate level, women who received offers were slightly less likely (by 3 - 7%) than men to take up enrolment, but were more likely to do so at a postgraduate level (by 6 - 13%), and at a doctoral level (by 3 - 17%).
  • Differences in conversion and enrolment rates for women and men are minor, and do not reflect a systemic issue for either group.
Academic Year/Programme Level  Women Applicants  Women Application to Offer Women Offer to Enrolment Men Applicants  Men Application Offer Men Offer to Enrolment  Diverse and Not Stated Applicants  Diverse and Not Stated Application to Offer  Diverse and Not Stated Offer to Enrolment 
2021 
Doctorate
1,579 28% 64% 2,107 21% 47%      
2021 Postgraduate         14,499 74% 40% 11,099 63% 27% 87 74% 45%
2021 Undergraduate 17,747 76% 49% 13,123 72% 52% 258 73% 65%
2022 Doctorate  1,268 31% 57%  1,579 21% 51%      
2022 Postgraduate 12,731 73% 41%            9,348 64% 30% 101 69% 41%
2022 Undergraduate  16,705 74% 45% 12,222 71% 52% 281 76% 54%
2023
Doctorate
1,806 32% 56% 1,922 22% 49%      
2023 Postgraduate 15,261 69% 37% 12,624 56% 27% 137 68% 45%
2023 Undergraduate 17,057 69% 43% 13,447 65% 48% 316 68% 48%
2024
Doctorate
1,898 29% 58%  1,830 27% 54%      
2024 Postgraduate 19,022 69% 32% 15,680 57% 23% 149 70% 42%
2024 Undergraduate 18,937 68% 42% 15,433 62% 48% 328 67% 52%
2025
Doctorate
2,098 29% 61% 2,196 24% 53%      
2025 Postgraduate 19,974 70% 31% 16,446 60% 25% 163 68% 49%
2025 Undergraduate 21,182 68% 42% 17,128 62% 47% 310 72% 53%

Staff and student statistics

University statistics on staff and student numbers, qualification completions, and international students for 2013-2024 are available below. Key facts and figures about staff and students are published in the University's Annual Report.

Archive

Key Statistics archive contains similar data for previous years.

More on Statistics and Planning at the University of Auckland.