Society executive committee

Profiling the University of Auckland Society’s experienced executive committee.

President: Amy Malcolm

Amy was President of the Society for four years before standing down at the end of 2016 and was elected as President at the end of 2020. She previously served as Vice-President from 2010 to 2012.

Amy has worked in the tertiary education sector for many years in marketing, communication, recruitment, and community engagement roles. She is passionate about providing opportunities for alumni to benefit from engaging with various parts of the University.

Vice-President: Richard Northey

A former MP and Auckland City Councillor, Richard Northey has been Vice President of the University of Auckland Society since 2005. He is a University of Auckland graduate, with undergraduate degrees in science and arts, and a Master of Arts with first-class honours in political studies. Richard has also lectured in political studies and planning at the University.

Richard chairs the Auckland Community Housing Trust, the Problem Gambling Foundation of New Zealand, and the Auckland Inner City Network Steering Group. He is an elected member of the Waitemata Local Board, and is on the Labour Party's New Zealand Council.

Richard is also a board member of the Auckland Observatory and Planetarium, and is patron of the Peace Foundation.

Treasurer: Karen Thompson

Karen joined the Society’s Executive Committee in 2015 upon becoming the Alumni Relations Manager for the University, having worked as the Events Manager for Alumni Relations and Development team since 2008.

Appointed as Associate Director, Communications and Alumni Relations in March 2018, Karen has also taken on the role as treasurer for the Society.

Janet Copsey

Janet was elected President of the University of Auckland Society in 2016 and stood down at the end of 2020, having previously served as the University of Auckland’s University Librarian and Director of Libraries and Learning Services. At the completion of her tenure, Janet was awarded the title University Librarian Emeritus by the University Council.

Janet has contributed to library initiatives both nationally and internationally. In 1996, she was awarded a Fellowship of the NZ Library and Information Association for her leadership in the introduction and management of information technology in New Zealand libraries. From 2006-2009, she was a government appointee to the NZ Library and Information Advisory Commission.  

Janet was also one seven initial members of the OCLC Asia-Pacific Regional Council. From 2008-2010, she was also appointed a delegate to the OCLC Global Council. From 2013-2015, she chaired the Pacific Rim Research Libraries Alliance.

David Abbott

Retired judge David Abbott gained an LLB (Hons) from The University of Auckland in 1970 and was admitted to the Bar in 1971. Much as he has enjoyed law practice over the many years, he has always looked to balance that life, both with his family (his wife, a son and a daughter) and with roles in the community. These included managing young boys’ cricket teams and a ten year involvement with a youth opera group. Since his retirement as a judge, David has returned to roles within his local community – with ongoing roles as chair of The St Mary’s Bay Association and co-convenor of a coalition of community organisations, in particular advocating on water quality. 

David has been a long standing member of the Society serving on the Committee for 10 years and as President for 8 of these years until 2012. David is returning to the Committee as he feels our university is facing increasingly greater challenges in a fast-changing world, and now needs the
support of its alumni more than ever.     

Eva Tollemache

Eva joined the Executive Committee in 2007. An Occupational Therapist who had previously worked in both London and California, Eva is currently working at Ranfurly Veteran’s Care, where she supervises staff, teaches students, engages with the community, and carries out cognitive assessments for residents.

A trained newsreader with broadcasting experience, Eva plays both the piano and flute, and uses music as a therapeutic medium in her occupational therapy practice. In 1994 Eva completed her BA degree, majoring in English. She also studied Italian, Art History, Acoustics and Politics. She’s also a qualified Modified Tai Chi instructor.

Rachel Yang

Rachel has been an Executive Committee member since 2011. The founder of the Auckland University Chinese Alumni Club, which today boasts thousands of Chinese graduate members, Rachel maintains a strong connection with Auckland’s young Chinese populace.

Rachel graduated from the University of Auckland Law School with a Master of Legal Studies. Her career began at Inland Revenue, where she worked in the areas of insolvency and investigation. A fully qualified Chartered Accountant, she now works for the Commonwealth Bank of Australia.

Paul Gilberd

Paul joined the Executive Committee in 2014. A native aucklander, he studied history at the University of Auckland then lived and worked in Europe for twelve years. After obtaining an MBA in London, Paul returned home to work in a variety of development roles for the University of Auckland and in the private sector. He’s now the General Manager of Strategy and Development for the New Zealand Housing Foundation, helping to fight poverty through the provision of affordable housing.

A passionate supporter of the University, Paul previously served on the Executive Committee in the 1990s, when he was a student representative.