University of Auckland researchers elected to the Royal Society Te Apārangi

Six leading University of Auckland researchers have been announced as Ngā Ahurei a Te Apārangi Fellows, an acknowledgement of research excellence.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, Professor Frank Bloomfield
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, Professor Frank Bloomfield is one of the newly elected Fellows of Royal Society Te Apārangi from Waipapa Taumata Rau, University of Auckland.

The new Ngā Ahurei a Te Apārangi Fellows have been elected in recognition of outstanding achievements in their respective fields, ranging from neonatal nutrition to Māori architecture to epidemiology.

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Dawn Freshwater said Waipapa Taumata Rau, University of Auckland’s position as the country’s leading research institution was founded on the exemplary quality of its researchers. Their work has led to progress and positive change in Aotearoa New Zealand and internationally.

“Our University community applauds the election of these new Fellows. Their achievement is so well-deserved and something for us all to celebrate.

“Research is vital for the well-being of our nation and the world. Through a commitment to excellence and world-leading research, our goal is to shape the future and a make a meaningful difference to our diverse communities, both here in Aotearoa and worldwide,” she said.

Internationally recognised research is a key reason for the University’s position in the top 100 universities in the world. The University of Auckland was ranked 68th in the QS World University Rankings 2024.

The new Fellows are:

  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research, Professor Frank Bloomfield, for his leading work in neonatal nutrition, the regulation and long-term consequences of altered foetal growth and nutrition. 
Professor Nicola Gaston
  • Professor Nicola Gaston, physicist, Faculty of Science, for her important insights into the behaviour of low-temperature, liquid metals.
Professor Anthony Hōete
  • Professor Anthony Hōete, Architecture and Planning, Faculty of Creative Arts and Industries, for his advancement of New Zealand and Māori architecture worldwide.
Professor Rod Jackson
  • Professor Rod Jackson, epidemiologist, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, for advancing the field of epidemiology and undertaking world-class epidemiological research.
Professor Peter O'Connor
  • Professor Peter O'Connor, pedagogy, Faculty of Education and Social Work, for his pioneering work in researching and using the arts for social transformation.
Professor Mary Sewell
  • Professor Mary Sewell, biologist, Faculty of Science, for being at the forefront of research on the impacts of anthropogenic change on life in the ocean. 

Royal Society Te Apārangi supports all New Zealanders to explore, discover and share knowledge. To celebrate the discoveries of researchers, the Society awards medals and elects Fellows, who are leaders in their fields. These experts help the Society provide independent advice to New Zealanders and the government on issues of public concern.

Media contact
Alison Oldridge | Corporate Communications Manager
M: 021 0222 9799