2018 winners

Congratulations to our 2018 finalists and winners!

Masters Inter-University 3MTⓇ Challenge

Georgia Watson collects large cheque and certificate from competition official. Orange background.
Georgia collects her prize.

Enormous congratulations to University of Auckland Masters Winner Georgia Watson, who won second place at the Masters Inter-University 3MTⓇ Challenge on 23 August. Georgia's presentation of her migraine research helped her beat five other competition champions from universities across the country, and only narrowly missed out on first place. We're extremely proud of you, Georgia, for this wonderful achievement!

Want to see our star in action? Scroll down to watch Georgia's winning presentation from the University of Auckland 3MTⓇ Finals.

University of Auckland 3MT Finals 2018

3MT judges and finalists smile for the camera.
L-R: Dr Jan Crosthwaite, Priscila Salloum, Su Mukund (Masters Runner-up), Pablo Gallego Cascon, Sophia Tsang, Georgia Watson (Masters Winner) Zaza Sapiee (People’s Choice Winner), Scott Pilkington, Celia Keane (Doctoral Winner), Neera Jain and Matheu Broom (Doctoral Runner-up), Miriam Seifert, Dr Sam Elworthy

Congratulations to all our finalists for a fantastic finale to the University of Auckland Three Minute Thesis Competition 2018. Our award winners are announced below.

The judges, Dr Jan Crosthwaite (Acting Dean of Graduate Studies), Dr Sam Elworthy (Director at Auckland University Press) and Ms Miriam Siefert (2017 3MT winner) had the difficult task of selecting our winners and runners-up.

Enormous congratulations to all our wonderful finalists, and best of luck to our winners going on to compete in the next stages of the Three Minute Thesis Competition for their category. Georgia Watson will compete in the Masters Inter-University Final in Canterbury on 23 August and Matheu Broom will represent the University at the Asia-Pacific Three Minute Thesis Finals in September (on behalf of Celia Keane, who is unable to attend). We'll be cheering for you both!

Doctoral Winner

Celia Keane - Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences
Low Anterior Resection Syndrome (LARS)

Doctoral Runner-up

Matheu Broom - Faculty of Science
Drip, drip, splash. How to control water droplets with surface patterning

Masters Winner

Georgia Watson - Faculty of Science
UnPACking Migraine: Understanding Ligand-Receptor Interactions Involved in Migraine

Masters Runner-up

Su Mukund - Faculty of Education and Social Work
Factors that influence science and non-science option choices in Year 13 at NZ secondary schools: Student voices

People’s Choice Award Winner

Nurul Haiza “Zaza” Sapiee - Faculty of Engineering
Bridging the Gap: Structural Integration in the Spine

Other finalists


Pablo Gallego Cascon - Auckland Bioengineering Institute
Chew it: An intraoral interface looking for discretion

Scott Pilkington - Faculty of Arts
How do we communicate science in museums?


Neera Jain - Faculty of Education and Social Work
A culture of access? The medical school social environment for students with disabilities

Priscila Salloum - Faculty of Science
Genetic and phenotypic variation in Onithochiton neglectus around New Zealand

Sophia Tsang - Faculty of Science
Potential Impacts of Lava Flows in a Hypothetical Auckland Volcanic Field Eruption