2024 Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition

Could you present your 80,000-word PhD thesis in less than 180 seconds? The 3MT competition is an unmissable opportunity to refine your research elevator pitch, enhance your presentation skills and drive the impact of your research.

What is the 3MT challenge?

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) is an academic research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), Australia. It is an exciting, fast-paced event that is held annually in more than 900 universities in 85 countries.

In a 3MT competition, doctoral candidates take up the challenge of sharing the story of their research with a general audience in under three minutes, supported by nothing more than a single, static slide.

Get ready for 3MT 2024

Entries for the 2024 University of Auckland 3MT competition are open to all currently enrolled doctoral candidates. We invite you to get involved to build your skills, confidence and connections across the research community.  

Scroll down to find out the dates of the Faculty Heats and Open Heat, as well as how you can register.

2024 University of Auckland 3MT heats and results

Heat  Date, Time and Venue Registration Links and Winners
Auckland Bioengineering Institute Heat Friday 23 February 2024

Winners: Arne Bruns and Logan Ritchie

Runner-up: Mathias Roesler

Faculty of Science Heat Wednesday 5 June 2024 (2pm) in Room 302-G20

Winner: Inka Pleiss

Runner-up: Sandra Gómez Gálvez

Faculty of Arts Heat Wednesday 19 June 2024 (10am) in Room B201-311

Winner: Bex Ansell

Runner-up: Vanessa Luca

Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences Heat Wednesday 19 June 2024 (12:30pm) in Room 503-020

Winner: Komal Srinivasa

Runner-up: Holly Wilson

Faculty of Creative Arts and Industries Heat Thursday 20 June 2024 (10am) in Room 423-348 Winner: Jie Bao
Faculty of Education and Social Work Heat Thursday 20 June 2024 (2pm) in Room B201-341 Winner: Qun Ma
Open Heat Monday 24 June 2024 (1pm) - online Apply to register for the Open Heat (deadline of Monday 17 June)
Faculty of Engineering Heat Thursday 27 June 2024 (10am) in Room 405-422 Register for the Engineering Faculty Heat (deadline of Thursday 6 June)
FINALS Friday 2 August 2024 (5pm) in Room 260-098 OGGB  

The University of Auckland Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition is run by the School of Graduate Studies.