Subdoctoral postgraduate research and travel awards

Faculty specific scholarships

Craig Memorial Scholarship

A $4,000 Scholarship to encourage Māori students to enrol full-time in a Masters or PhD programme in the School of Environment or the Department of Mathematics.

Emma Waterhouse Award for Women in Natural Science

A $5,000 Scholarship to support women students undertaking study or research in the natural sciences relating to the geography and ecology of Aotearoa New Zealand and its marine and terrestrial environments, including the sub-Antarctic or Antarctica.

Applications for 2023 close on 4 August. Apply now.

George McWhirter Memorial Scholarship

A Scholarship of up to $8,000 for full-time or part-time postgraduate research in the Faculty of Arts or the Faculty of Creative Arts and Industries relating to state housing, homelessness, the politics of social housing and public policy causes and effects in these areas in New Zealand.

External scholarships

The Freemasons University Scholarships

All faculties

The Freemasons Scholarships are to assist able students who are actively involved in their community, to complete their university education in their chosen field. The scholarships are
provided annually, funded and administered by The Freemasons Charity.

For 2024 there will be eight Postgraduate Scholarships of up to $10,000 each, and twenty University Scholarships of up to $6,000 each.

Applications close 1 October. For more information and to apply visit The Freemasons University Scholarships.

The Dick and Mary Earle Scholarship in Technology

Te Pōkai Tara - Universities New Zealand administers this scholarship which provides funds for individuals to undertake masters or doctoral research in innovation and product development and/or bioprocess technology.

Applicants must be New Zealand citizens or permanent residents, and have completed a BTech, BEng, BE degree or equivalent from a New Zealand university, with honours, in a field appropriate to their intended postgraduate study.

Up to $17,000 per annum at Masters level and $25,000 per annum at PhD level.

For more information and to apply visit The Dick and Mary Earle Scholarship in Technology.

The Patrick Shannon Scholarship

The Livestock Improvement Patrick Shannon Scholarship Programme is named after one of the most remarkable and innovative bovine geneticists and reproductive biologists in the world. Dr Shannon joined Livestock Improvement in the mid-1950s, and made a variety of world-breaking discoveries, which continue to provide vitality and profitability to the New Zealand dairy industry.

Scholarships are available for New Zealand Citizens or Permanent Residents enrolled in honours or masters level study in mathematics, statistics, machine learning, or science that will establish eligibility for PhD study.

Applications close on 28 November each year. For more information and to apply visit The Patrick Shannon Scholarship.

RMLA Masters Scholarship

RMLA scholarships are designed to encourage graduate students from a range of disciplines (law, planning, engineering, geography, science, landscape architecture, urban planning and resource management), to focus their research theses or dissertations on topics related to the application of resource management in New Zealand.

The scholarship is open to any graduate student in a University (New Zealand or Overseas) registered for a Masters (including an undergraduate Honours degree involving advanced levels of research and study at Masters degree level). Doctoral studies are not eligible.

One or more Masters scholarships per annum may be awarded out of an annual fund of $15,000. There will generally be three $5,000 scholarships awarded a year.

Applications close 1 September. For more information and to apply visit RMLA Masters Scholarship.

TENZ Postgraduate Scholarship

The TENZ Postgraduate Scholarship is funded by Technology Education New Zealand (TENZ). Scholarships are awarded each year to TENZ members who are undertaking postgraduate study that will make a positive contribution to technology education.

For more information and to apply, visit TENZ.