Terms of reference

The Rūnanga may establish a wider consultative body to be chaired by a member of the Rūnanga

  • To advise Council on the appropriateness of relevant sections of the Charter, Strategic Plan, Profile and Council policies in terms of the University's aspirations to partner with Māori and support Māori development. In order to facilitate this process, Council officers will ensure that any such documents which the Council is to consider will first be referred to the Rūnanga for its advice.
  • To advise Council on the progress and achievements of the University towards its strategic objectives for Māori. To this end, reports prepared on such matters for Council (usually by the Vice-Chancellor and Pro Vice-Chancellors Māori and Equal Opportunity) will be referred to the Rūnanga for comment and advice.
  • To advise management on operational matters relevant to the delivery on strategic objectives for Māori. Such advice will be sought by the Vice-Chancellor and other senior managers as required.
  • To consider and advise appropriate Senate committees, and through them Council, on academic matters that have direct relevance to Māori curriculum content, delivery and research. Such advice will be sought by the Senate committees as required
  • To provide to Council and senior management such other advice as may be requested from time to time


  1. Conflicts of Interest
    Committee members must declare any real or perceived conflicts of interest in line with the requirements of the University’s Conflicts of Interest Policy.
  2. Confidentiality
    Committee members have a responsibility to treat all information with appropriate confidentiality. This includes matters tabled or discussed at the Committee meetings, as well as any additional issues that are raised outside meetings.


  • Pro Vice-Chancellor (Māori) - Chair
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor (EO)
  • Two Associate Deans (Māori) recommended by the PVC (Māori)
  • Two members elected by Māori professors
  • One member elected by Māori sub-professorial staff
  • One member elected by Māori professional staff
  • Two Māori student members elected by Ngā Tauira Māori
  • Two members from the wider Māori community

The Rūnanga may establish a wider consultative body to be chaired by a member of the Rūnanga

The Rūnanga Committee reports to Council through Senate.

Members and term of office

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Māori) Term of membership
Professor C Kiro Ex-Officio
Pro Vice-Chancellor (EO) or nominee
Term of membership
Ms T McNaughton
Two Associate Deans Māori
Term of membership
Professor P Reid (FMHS)
Associate Professor M Henare (B&E)   Ex-Officio
Mr T Trinick (FoEd) In attendance
Mr M Steedman (FoS) In attendance
Mr D Matene (FoE) In attendance
Two Māori professorial staff
Term of membership
Vacant 31.01.18
One sub-professorial staff
Term of membership
One member of professional staff
Term of membership
Two Māori students
Term of membership
M Merito
M Allen
Two Māori community members
Term of membership
Vacant Ex-Officio
Rūnanga Secretary
Term of membership
Jeanette Rameka
In attendance

Schedule of meetings

Meetings are held on Thursdays in the JHMRC, 18 Wynyard Street, City Campus, from 1pm to 3pm on the following dates:

  1. 14 March 2019
  2. 16 May 2019
  3. 18 July 2019
  4. 19 September 2019
  5. 14 November 2019

Please contact the Rūnanga Secretary:

Jeanette Rameka
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82525
Email: j.rameka@auckland.ac.nz.