Vice-Chancellor’s Prize for Best Doctoral Thesis

Each year, the Vice-Chancellor’s Prize for Best Doctoral Thesis is awarded to the five most exceptional theses successfully examined.

Criteria for nomination include the demonstrable significance, originality, contribution and excellence of the thesis.

Winners for 2022

Dr Stephanie Grace Lambie | Faculty of Science
Thesis: The next generation of functional nanomaterials: Atomistic control of metal nanostructures as dictated by liquid Ga
Supervisors: Professor Nicola Gaston and Dr Krista Steenbergen

Dr Karaponi Okesene-Gafa | Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences
Thesis: Obesity and Excess Gestational Weight Gain in Pregnancy - Interventions and Participant Views
Supervisors: Professor Lesley McCowan and Professor Caroline Crowther

Dr Maria Christine Treadaway | Faculty of Arts
Thesis: Developing and Validating a Diagnostic Language Test for Ab Initio Cadet Pilots
Supervisors: Professor Helen Basturkmen and Emeritus Professor John Read

Dr Wenwei (Victor) Wang | Faculty of Engineering
Thesis: New Multilevel Converter Topologies for Wireless Power Transfer Systems
Supervisors: Dr Duleepa Thrimawithana and Professor Grant Covic

Dr Zhaohan Xiong | Auckland Bioengineering Institute
Thesis: Deep Learning for Improving the Detection, Prognosis, and Treatment of Atrial Fibrillation
Supervisors: Associate Professor Jichao Zhao, Dr Gonzalo Maso-Talou and Associate Professor Martin Stiles

Many congratulations to the five winners and their supervisors. 

Congratulations to the 2022 nominees

We would like to acknowledge the extremely high standard of all nominations received. To be nominated for these prizes is in itself an achievement, so congratulations also to the following nominees:

Dr Vanine Borges Amaral | Faculty of Arts

Dr Maryam Bagheri Nesami | Faculty of Creative Arts and Industries

Dr Sophie Louise Farrow | Liggins Institute

Dr Joyce John Mathan | Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences

Dr Tamsin Joy Robb | Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences

Dr Eri Sasaki | Faculty of Science

Mr Kevin Carson Stitely | Faculty of Science

Dr Hwee Sze Tee | Faculty of Science

Dr Alana Louise Whitcombe | Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences

Dr Esther Sze Wah Yao | Faculty of Education and Social Work