Top Tips for SRB, including faculty contacts

Resources and forms of support for students from refugee backgrounds, including faculty contacts.

  • The Equity Policy highlights the University’s commitment to being safe, inclusive and equitable.
  • The University’s Equity Office – Te Ara Tautika is here to help. The Office is committed to ensure the University is safe, inclusive and equitable. See Equity at the University.
  • University Health and Counselling is there for any health, medical or counselling needs.

  • AUSA can help and support on multiple fronts – including a finding a buddy, obtaining grants for food parcels and childcare, and advocacy services.

Faculty contacts for students from refugee backgrounds

If you are a student from a refugee background and would like to discuss
how the University can support you with your faculty, please get in touch with the relevant faculty contacts.*

Faculty/LSRI Who to contact
Arts Nancy (Lanqi) Gao, Student Support Advisor
lanqi.gao@auckland.ac.nz
ABI

Jagir Hussan, Research Fellow
r.jagir@auckland.ac.nz

ABI Equity Committee

Business and Economics Melissa Valnegri, Programmes Advisor
melissa.valnegri@auckland.ac.nz
Creative Arts and Industries Alaina Muriwai-Te Rore, Student Support and Experience Advisor
alaina.muriwai@auckland.ac.nz
Education and Social Work Denise McKay, Student Academic Engagement
d.mckay@auckland.ac.nz
Engineering Quang Le, Student Support Advisor
quang.minh.le@auckland.ac.nz
Law Professor Caroline Foster
c.foster@auckland.ac.nz
Liggins Jen Rogers, Equity Committee chair
jenny.rogers@auckland.ac.nz
Medical and Health Sciences Daniel Heke, Student Support Advisor
fmhssupport@auckland.ac.nz
Science  Erica Farrelly, Student Support Advisor
e.farrelly@auckland.ac.nz

* While we update this information regularly, at times, details may be out-of-date. If you have found it difficult to contact the relevant faculty adviser, please let the Equity Office - Te Ara Tautika know: equity@auckland.ac.nz

University decision-making

Students from Refugee Backgrounds (SRB) Advisory Board – with student representation. This group meets quarterly. At this meeting, staff from the Equity Office Te Ara Tautika provide updates to, and seek advice from, students from refugee backgrounds, researchers in the area, faculty equity representatives and staff from Refugees as Survivors.