Education Committee

Terms of reference

  • To advise and recommend to Senate on academic policy developments
  • To advise and recommend on policy and regulations relating to:
    • University entrance
    • Recruitment admission and enrolment
    • Limitations and selection criteria
    • Discipline
    • Other matters of an academic nature
  • To recommend on and oversee Departmental and Programme Reviews
  • To advise and recommend on academic matters relating to distance education
  • To recommend on public lecture series
  • To recommend on academic appointments to outside bodies
  • To oversee academic audit processes
  • To receive reports from Inter-Faculty Boards of Study
  • To advise on academic relationships with other institutions
  • To consider and recommend New Scholarship and Award Regulations received through the Scholarships Sub-Committee



  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) - Chair
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor (Equity)
  • Pro-Vice Chancellor (Māori)
  • Dean of each Faculty or nominee
  • Director, Academic Services
  • Two professorial members elected by the professoriate
  • Two sub-professorial staff elected by sub-professorial staff
  • President Auckland University Students Association or nominee

Education Committee reports to Senate.

Committee members and term of office

Associate Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Holds office until
Associate Professor J Crosthwaite - Chair Ex-officio
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Equity)
Holds office until
Ms T McNaughton
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Māori)
Holds office until
Professor C Kiro
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Pacific)
Holds office until
Associate Professor D Salesa
Dean of each Faculty or nominee
Holds office until
Associate Professor J Brown (nominee), Arts
Mrs S Laurenson (nominee), Business and Economics Ex-officio
Dr M Macken,(nominee), Creative Arts and Industries Ex-officio
Dr C Highfield (nominee), Education and Social Work Ex-officio
Dr M Hobson (nominee), Engineering Ex-officio
Ms B Davies, Law Ex-officio
Associate Professor B Kool (nominee), Medical and Health Sciences Ex-officio
Associate Professor D McGillivray (nominee), Science Ex-officio
Director, Academic Services or Nominee
Holds office until
Ms J Browne
Two Professorial Members Elected by the Professoriate
Holds office until
Two Sub-Professorial Staff Elected by Sub-Professorial Staff
Holds office until
Dr B Plester
Dr Sean Sturm 31.01.22
President Auckland University Student Association or
Holds office until
Ms E Rogers 30.11.2020

Committee Secretary

Wendy Verschaeren
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85782

Schedule of meetings

9.00 am
23.03.2020 9.00 am
11.05.2020 9.00 am
29.06.2020 9.00 am
07.09.2020 9.00 am
09.11.2020 9.00 am

No meeting in December.