University Equity Leadership Committee

The University Equity Leadership Committee will be chaired by the Vice-Chancellor and report to Council.

Terms of Reference

  • Enhance integrated, effective, and efficient equity leadership across the University commensurate with Taumata Teitei and the strategic priorities of the Executive portfolios
  • Provide leadership and accountability for the University’s Equity Operational Plan, Equity Policy and related projects
  • Respond to monitoring and reporting on implementation of the University’s Equity Operational Plan
  • Respond to advice, recommendations, and requests for guidance from the Equity Action Network
  • Identify where synergies can be harnessed or gaps need to be addressed in improving equity across the University
  • Foster and encourage good practice and innovation in improving equity throughout the University
  • Advise Senate and Council on University equity strategy, policy and progress reporting
  • Ensure the University’s statutory and other compliance obligations are met



  • Vice-Chancellor - Chair
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Equity - Deputy Chair
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Māori
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Pacific
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor Education
  • Associate Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research
  • AUSA President
  • Student representatives
  • Director, Human Resources
  • Campus Life Associate Director, Student Welbeing & Engagement


Frequency of meetings

The University Equity Leadership Committee will meet at least five times each year.


These Terms of Reference will be reviewed at least once every three years.

Committee members and term of office

Vice-Chancellor   Holds office until
Professor D Freshwater – Chair Ex-officio
Pro Vice-Chancellor Equity
Holds office until
Professor C Stinear Deputy Chair Ex-officio
Pro Vice-Chancellor Māori
Holds office until
Associate Professor TK Hoskins
Pro Vice-Chancellor Pacific
Holds office until
Associate Professor J Tiatia   Ex-officio
Pro Vice-Chancellor Education    
Holds office until
Professor B Kool
Associate Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research   
Holds office until
Professor S Holdaway
AUSA President
Holds office until
A Shaker Ex-officio
Student Representatives
Holds office until
T Wallace-Ihakara
Director Human resources
Holds office until
Mr A Phipps
Campus Life Associate Director, Student Wellbeing & Engagement
Holds office until
Ms A Parsons Ex-officio

Committee Secretary

Ms V Watson
Phone: +64 9 923 4923
Extn: 84923

Schedule of meetings

18.04.2024 10.30am
18.07.2024 10.30am
12.09.2024 10.30am
17.10.2024 10.30am