Academic dates


This calendar lists important dates for the academic year.

2016 academic year

Summer School 2016 (semester code: 1160)
Summer School begins Wednesday 6 January 2016
Auckland Anniversary Day Monday 1 February 2016
Waitangi Day Monday 8 February 2016
Lectures end Friday 12 February 2016
Study break  Saturday 13 February 2016
Exams Monday 15 February – Wednesday 17 February 2016
Summer School ends Wednesday 17 February 2016
Semester One 2016 (semester code: 1163)
Orientation Welcome Monday 22 February - Friday 26 February 2016
Semester One begins Monday 29 February 2016
Easter break Friday 25 March – Tuesday 29 March 2016
Mid-semester break Monday 18 April – Saturday 23 April 2016
ANZAC Day Monday 25 April 2016
Graduation Friday 6 May, Monday 9 May and Wednesday 11 May
Lectures end Friday 3 June 2016
Study break
Saturday 4 June – Wednesday 8 June 2016
Queen’s Birthday Monday 6 June 2016
Exams Thursday 9 June – Monday 27 June 2016
Semester One ends Monday 27 June 2016
Inter-semester break Tuesday 28 June – Saturday 16 July 2016
Semester Two 2016 (semester code: 1165)
Orientation Welcome Tuesday 12 July - Friday 15 July 2016
Semester Two begins Monday 18 July 2016
Courses and Careers Day Saturday 27 August 2016
Mid-semester break Monday 29 August – Saturday 10 September 2016
Graduation Tuesday 27 September 2016
Lectures end Friday 21 October 2016
Study break  Saturday 22 October – Wednesday 26 October 2016
Exams Thursday 27 October – Monday 14 November 2016
Labour Day Monday 24 October 2016
Enrolment opening date for 2017 Monday 7 November 2016
Semester Two ends Monday 14 November 2016

GSM students can find their academic dates by programme of study at Graduate School of Management.


The 2016 Academic dates are also available as an iCalendar, see Academic dates iCalendar.

Top

2017 academic year

Summer School 2017 (semester code: 1170)
Summer School begins Thursday 5 January 2017
Auckland Anniversary Day Monday 30 January 2017
Waitangi Day Monday 6 February 2017
Lectures end Friday 17 February 2017
Study break  Saturday 18 February 2017
Exams Monday 20 February – Wednesday 22 February 2017
Summer School ends Wednesday 22 February 2017
Semester One 2017 (semester code: 1173)
Orientation Welcome TBC
Semester One begins Monday 6 March 2017
Mid-semester break/Easter Friday 14 April - Saturday 29 April 2017
ANZAC Day Tuesday 25 April 2017
Graduation Monday 1, Wednesday 3, Friday 5 May 2017
Queen's Birthday Monday 5 June 2017
Lectures end
Friday 9 June 2017
Study break Saturday 10 June - Wednesday 14 June 2017
Exams Thursday 15 June - Monday 3 July 2017
Semester One ends Monday 3 July 2017
Inter-semester break                         Tuesday 4 July - Saturday 22 July 2017
Semester Two 2017 (semester code: 1175)
Orientation Welcome TBC
Semester Two begins Monday 24 July 2017
Courses and Careers Day Saturday 2 September
Mid-semester break Monday 4 September - Saturday 16 September 2017
Graduation Tuesday 26 September 2017
Labour Day Monday 23 October 2017
Lectures end Friday 27 October 2017
Study break Saturday 28 October - Wednesday 1 November 2017
Exams Thursday 2 November - Monday 20 November 2017
Semester Two ends Monday 20 November 2017

Future academic dates

Future academic dates can be found on the University Calendar website. 

For more information, please see Past and future semester dates.

Application dates - Undergraduate and Postgraduate