National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards

28 national awards have been won by our teachers.

Introduced by the government in 2001, the Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards are nationally contested annual awards, giving recognition to outstanding tertiary teachers.

There are up to 12 awards of $20,000 each, two of which recognise sustained excellence in teaching in a kaupapa Māori context. The winner of the Prime Minister's Supreme Award is chosen from among the 12 recipients, and receives an additional $10,000.

2018 national award winners

Congratulations to Associate Professors Mānuka Hēnare and Christine Woods from the Business School who received national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards in the 2018 round in the Kaupapa Māori  and General categories respectively

Left to right: Associate Dean Sue Laurenson, Associate Professors Mānuka Hēnare and Christine Woods from the Business School, and Dr Kevin Morris (Director, Teaching and Learning)
Left to right: Associate Dean Sue Laurenson, Associate Professors Mānuka Hēnare and Christine Woods (2018 award winners), and Dr Kevin Morris (Director, Teaching and Learning)

Christine joined the University in 2000 and has developed a track record in the scholarship and teaching of undergraduate entrepreneurship education. Christine’s contribution is in scaffolding students’ understanding of the process of constructing, evaluating and realising opportunities for change. Christine has developed unique expertise in educating Māori entrepreneurs, and has published pedagogical frameworks for teaching Māori entrepreneurship. Chris has also developed and delivered programmes to engage school-aged girls in entrepreneurship and business, and has played a key role in the ICEHOUSE owner/manager programme. Chris has also contributed significantly to the education component of Velocity since the early 2000s. Students value Chris for her engaging teaching style and ability to make theoretical concepts understandable in practical terms.
Mānuka joined the University in 1996 as a tertiary teacher in the field of Māori and Indigenous business enterprise and development.

Mānuka has been instrumental in developing and growing educational programmes for Māori and Pacific Islanders in the Business School and the building of national and international networks that advance the cause of indigenous education and research. Mānuka led the development of the Te Tohu Māori Business Development Programme which has been pivotal to the development and growth of Māori business and organizations in New Zealand. Mānuka has also been a strong advocate for He Tuakana – the Business School’s Māori and mentoring scheme – which has been successful in raising Māori and Pacific pass rates in the School. Students value Mānuka for his intellectually challenging and adaptive teaching style.


Teaching excellence at The University of Auckland

Find out what makes an excellent teacher from Director of Teaching and Learning Dr Kevin Morris and our 2013 national Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award winners.

Take a look at our previous national award winners here: 2002-2007, 2008-2011, 2012-2017