2017 winners

Congratulations to our 2017 finalists and winners!

2017 Asia-Pacific Competition

Congratulations to Miriam Seifert for placing as a Top-10 Finalist in 2017 Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition

The 2017 Asia-Pacific 3MT Finals were held on the 29 September at the University of Queensland, St Lucia Campus.

The Semi-Finals, held on the morning of the event, featured competitors from 55 Universities from across Australia, New Zealand and North and South-East Asia. The top 10 competitors from the Semi-Finals then progressed to compete in the Finals held in the afternoon. 

Our doctoral winner, Miriam Seifert was chosen as a Top 10 Finalist, which is a great achievement.

University of Auckland 3MT Finals 2017

Congratulations to the 10 courageous finalists who competed in the 3 Minute Thesis Finals in the Conference Centre on Thursday 3 August.

Our judges at the finals, Dr Lisbeth Jacobs (UniServices, General Manager International), Kate Riegle van West (2016 3MT® Winner) and Professor Trevor Sherwin (Associate Dean Postgraduate, Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences) had the difficult task of choosing the winners and runners up for the masters and doctoral strand.

In the end, Miriam Seifert (Business School) was announced the Doctoral Winner and Akshat Shah (Faculty of Science) the Masters Winner. Elba Ramirez (Faculty of Education & Social work) was announced as the People's Choice Award Winner.

Well done to everyone!

3MT 2017 Winners image
Finalists FLTR: Akshat Shah (Masters Winner), Minh Do (Masters Runner-up), Ruth Lemon, Sarah Leadley, Joohyun Park (Doctoral Runner-up), Miriam Seifert (Doctoral Winner), Eryn Kwon, Elba Ramirez (People's Choice Winner) and Clark Tipene

Doctoral Winner

Miriam Seifert – Business School
Title: The Influence of Anti-consumption on a Firm’s Abilities to Achieve a Competitive Advantage – Case Studies from the Slow Fashion Movement

Doctoral Runner-up

Joohyun Park – Faculty of Education & Social Work
Title: This is your life: The interplay between success, acculturation, and subjective well-being in New Zealand and Korea

Masters Winner

Akshat Shah – Faculty of Science
Title: Nosey Speech- Effectiveness of a workshop to improve community speech language therapists' ability to assess and provide appropriate intervention for children with cleft palate speech disorders

Masters Runner-up

Minh Do – Business School
Title: Twin Ports Cooperation Modelling - A Study of Auckland and Tauranga Ports

People's Choice Award

Elba Ramirez – Faculty of Education & Social Work
Title: Intercultural Communicative Language Teaching: A Matter of Potential over Proficiency

The other finalists were:


Clark Tipene - Faculty of Arts
Title: Tuned in or switching off? Political participation amongst young New Zealanders

Ruth Lemon - Faculty of Education & Social Work
Title: Rangahau Hangarau - the histories of Hangarau as a curriculum area


Eryn Kwon - Faculty of Engineering
Title: Investigation of Cranial Ballistic Backspatter using Computational Simulation and Physical Models

Nina Novikova - Faculty of Science
Title: Using light to treat cancer: New Photodynamic Therapy Agents

Sarah Leadley - Faculty of Science
Title: Behavioural assessment and treatment to transition children from tube feeding to oral nutrition

View all the 2017 3 Minute Thesis Videos on the University of Auckland 3MT Playlist.