Doctoral Morning Tea

Meet your peers, make connections and learn from those who have come before you in these monthly doctoral panel sessions.

The Doctoral Morning Tea (DMT) is a monthly event just for doctoral candidates. Come along to meet and connect with with your peers from across the University, have a tasty bite to eat and learn from a revolving panel of guest speakers discussing key topics relevant to doctoral life.

Thank you to everyone who attended a Doctoral Morning Tea in 2019. If you have any feedback on these events, please email us at sgs-events@auckland.ac.nz.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2020.

2019 schedule

Date Topic Location
Thursday 28 February
Competitions, collaborations and courses: Making the most of your doctorate
Decima Glen, OGGB, City Campus
Thursday 21 March "Winter is coming": Managing health and wellness during the doctorate
Newmarket
Wednesday 17 April Perfect your PhD elevator pitch
iSpace, City Campus
Thursday 23 May Managing the relationship with your supervisor iSpace, City Campus
Thursday 20 June International student life
iSpace, City Campus
Thursday 18 July
Mid-Year Social Pat Hanan Room, City Campus
Thursday 22 August Academic career pathways
iSpace, City Campus
Thursday 19 September What STEM employers want
Decima Glen room, OGGB, City Campus
Thursday 24 October The examination process and life after the doctorate
iSpace, City Campus
Wednesday 20 November Q&A with the Vice-Chancellor and the Dean of Graduate Studies
Federation of University Women's Room, OGH

To stay up-to-date with DMT news and developments, check out our fortnightly newsletter, Postgrad News: Doctoral Edition. You can sign up by emailing postgradnews@auckland.ac.nz.