Doctoral morning tea

Meet other doctoral candidates from across the University and listen to panel speakers discuss relevant and interesting topics.

The Doctoral Morning Tea (DMT) is a monthly event organised just for doctoral candidates. Come along to meet and mingle with your peers from across the University, have a tasty bite to eat and listen to a revolving panel of guest speakers discuss interesting topics that are relevant to doctoral life.

2019 schedule

The dates for the DMT are fixed, but the topics may vary according to speaker availability and other circumstances. Please check back closer to each event to confirm.

Booking is essential for catering purposes. Once the topic is confirmed for each session, you will find the booking link in the table below.

Date Topic Location
Thursday 28 February
Competitions, collaborations and courses: Making the most of your doctorate
Decima Glen, OGGB, City Campus
Thursday 21 March "Winter is coming": Managing health and wellness during the doctorate
Newmarket
Wednesday 17 April Three Minute Thesis speed dating: Practice your PhD elevator pitch
iSpace, City Campus
Thursday 23 May Managing the relationship with your supervisor iSpace, City Campus
Thursday 20 June Preparing your CV for industry
iSpace, City Campus
Thursday 18 July
International student life Epsom Auditorium Foyer, Epsom Campus
Thursday 22 August Publishing during the doctorate iSpace, City Campus
Thursday 19 September Academic career pathways iSpace, City Campus
Thursday 24 October "To infinity and beyond": The oral exam and life after the doctorate iSpace, City Campus
Wednesday 20 November Q&A with the Vice-Chancellor and the Dean of Graduate Studies
iSpace, City Campus

To stay up-to-date with DMT news and developments, please ensure you are signed up to the School of Graduate Studies newsletter, Postgrad News. You can sign up by emailing postgradnews[at]auckland.ac.nz.