Doctoral Morning Tea

Meet your peers, make connections and learn from those who have come before you in these monthly doctoral panel sessions.

The Doctoral Morning Tea (DMT) is a monthly event just for doctoral candidates. Come along to meet and connect with with your peers from across the University, have a tasty bite to eat and learn from a revolving panel of guest speakers discussing key topics relevant to doctoral life.

Thank you to everyone who attended a Doctoral Morning Tea in 2019. If you have any feedback on these events, please email us at sgs-events@auckland.ac.nz.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2020.

2020 schedule

Please note that our 2020 Doctoral Morning Tea schedule may be subject to changes.

Date Topic
Thursday 20 February International student life
Thursday 19 March
Academic careers
Thursday 16 April Managing the relationship with your supervisor
Thursday 21 May
Meet your peers: networking tips and practice
Thursday 18 June Competitions, collaborations and courses: Making the most of your doctorate
Thursday 16 July Mid-year doctoral social
Thursday 20 August Managing stress, health and wellbeing during the doctorate
Thursday 17 September Non-academic careers
Thursday 22 October
Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Graduate Studies Q&A
Thursday 19 November Managing the doctoral journey

To stay up-to-date with DMT news and developments, check out our fortnightly newsletter, Postgrad News: Doctoral Edition. You can sign up by emailing postgradnews@auckland.ac.nz.