School of Graduate Studies

Exterior of Alfred Nathan House: grand white building; white stone steps lead to columned entranceway.

Book a Postgraduate Adviser appointment online

Doctoral candidates can make, change or cancel a Postgraduate Adviser appointment online, using the link below.

Appointments are available Monday to Friday, 10-12pm and 2-4pm. 

Click here to book your appointment.

The School of Graduate Studies has overall responsibility for the development and oversight of policies and procedures for graduate programmes, and for the promotion of graduate study and advocacy for graduate students.

We provide information and administrative services to all prospective and current postgraduate students. Our Postgraduate Advisers can help with doctoral admissions, progression, examination and thesis submission enquiries.

The Dean of Graduate Studies, Associate Professor Caroline Daley, is the Chair of the Board of Graduate Studies. The board is responsible for the creation and administration of the University's policies on postgraduate study.

Useful information

Initial submissions

For a successful initial thesis submission, please contact us 3 months in advance of your submission appointment. We will email you the information you need in order to submit, and initiate your thesis examination process.

Contact us at


The University does not expect that doctoral candidates will employ a professional proofreader or copy editor. If you choose to do so, those listed in the document below have experience in proofreading and copy editing at tertiary level. The School of Graduate Studies has no formal association with these people and takes no responsibility for the work that they undertake for you. Any work they do for you must comply with the University’s Third Party Editing and Proofreading of Theses and Dissertation Guidelines.

Find out about using PReSS Account funds for proofreading.

Get in touch

Phone and email

Phone (from within New Zealand): 0800 61 62 63
Phone (from outside New Zealand): +64 9 373 7513

Opening hours

Monday to Friday: 10am-4pm
We are closed on weekends and public holidays.

Physical address  

School of Graduate Studies
AskAuckland Central,
Alfred Nathan House (Building 103)
24 Princes Street

Postal address

School of Graduate Studies
The University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019
Auckland 1142

School of Graduate Studies staff

Academic staff

Dean of Graduate Studies: Associate Professor Caroline Daley
Deputy Dean of Graduate Studies: Dr Jan Cronin

Professional staff

School of Graduate Studies manager: Dr Helen Ross
Operations team lead: Sean Maguire
Doctoral admissions: Lisa Whyte and Jonathan Albright
Doctoral candidature: Anya Vai, Neil Jennings, James Weston and Karen Driessen
Doctoral examinations: Naomi Kelly, Bandraoi O'Sullivan and Paul van Beusekom
Communications and web adviser: Sarah Cason
Events and engagement adviser: Elisha Masemann and Nadine Schneemann