Equity Events

Events to promote equity are held throughout the year, across the University. Equity news items are shared to highlight important issues and key successes.

Disability Studies at the University of Auckland Seminar

Below are details of an invitation for all University of Auckland staff and research students working with, or interested in Disability Studies as a theoretical lens to join us on Tuesday 19 June, 2018.

We are fortunate to have an international leading Disability Studies scholar visiting as a Distinguished Visiting Fellow. Professor Susan Gabel has published widely, including recent articles in the Journal of Medical Humanities, and in a press article in Hypatia, Journal of Feminist Philosophy. Susan helped establish the Disability Studies in Education special interest group of the American Educational Research Association. Susan will present on her recent work on 19 June (more details to follow).

Two elements to the invitation

1. Would you be interested and available to present something on your work? This could be a completed project, a work in progress, a proposal for a project. In this way we can learn more about colleagues who share interest in Disability Studies.
2. Would you be interested in attending the seminar? 

Seminar Details:

Date: Tuesday, 19 June (time TBC)
Location: 
Building 260 - Room 040C 12 Grafton Rd, Auckland

RSVP

If you would like to come in either capacity or would be interested in future events, please RSVP to Julie Bringans directly.

STEAM Ahead 2018 - Registrations are now open

STEAM Ahead is an annual programme run by the University of Auckland for Year 13 Māori and Pacific students with an interest or aptitude in Science, Technology, Engineering and Medicine. 

Secondary schools in the Auckland region are invited to register a maximum of 10 Year 13 Māori and Pacific students to a day on the University's City Campus.

2018 Equity events for Students

Event                      Audience           Date
Māori and Pacific Parents Evening Year 12 and 13 Māori and Pacific students, their whānau and aiga (Auckland region) Thursday, 31 May  
KATTI Year 12 Māori students Wednesday 20 & Thursday 21 June
PILOT Year 12 Pacific students  Wednesday, 13 June, Thursday 14 June, + family dinner
STEAM Ahead Year 13 Māori and Pacific students (Auckland region) Tuesday, 3 July
PILOT Year 11 Pacific students  Wednesday, 15 August, Thursday 14 August + family dinner
KATTI Year 11 Māori students   Thursday 2 August & Wednesday 11 August
Whāia te Pae Tawhiti  Māori students Thursday, 23 August - Sunday 26 August
Courses and Careers Day Prospective Māori and Pacific students Saturday, 25 August
PILOT Year 10 Pacific students Wednesday, 31 October, Thursday 1 November + family dinner
KATTI Year 10 Māori students  Wednesday 24 October & Friday 26 October
BEAMS  Year 10 Māori and Pacific students Wednesday, 21 November - Tuesday, 27 November (excluding weekend)

LGBTI Network Meeting for Staff and Students

The University of Auckland’s LGBTI network is back for 2018. It’s a fantastic opportunity to meet fellow LGBTI staff, students and allies to discuss upcoming rainbow events and issues relevant to the University.

Upcoming LGBTI Network Meeting Dates for 2018
All meetings are held from 1.30pm until 3pm- tea, coffee and biscuits will be provided

June 6, 2018- Decima Glenn, Owen G Glenn Building, City Campus, 12 Grafton Rd (please note room change)

October 10, 2018- The Great Hall, The ClockTower, City Campus, 22 Princes St

If you would like to be part of University of Auckland’s LGBTI network, please email equity@auckland.ac.nz to register your interest.