Student Disability Services

Our role is to support students with a range of impairments to succeed and excel within the University.

Special Examinations Accommodations


If you are a new student in 2015 and have had special conditions while at school, or a returning student whose exam conditions have expired, please contact us as soon as possible.

The deadline for this process is the second week of semester, please get in quick as there may be delays in processing your application.

Equity Office

Room 036, Basement Level
ClockTower
22 Princes St
Auckland
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82936
Email: disability@auckland.ac.nz

Top

2015 Scholarships and awards for students with disabilities


We have organised the Scholarships and Awards booklet into disability specific order.

We also have included scholarships and awards for school leavers.

In addition to disability specific scholarships we have added some general scholarships and awards and hope these may encourage you to find out more about any that may apply to you.

Good luck with your future applications!

Equity Office, Student Disability Services, Scholarships and awards for students with disabilities cover
SDS Scholarship Booklet 2015
Top

Information for students with disabilities brochure


Find out how the Student Disability Services team can help you to make the most of your study at the University of Auckland.

Download the Information for students with disabilities brochure

SDS EBOOK flyer pic
Top

Campus Accessibility


The University of Auckland works to ensure that all of our campuses are accessible for people with impairments.  If you have any access concerns or challenges please feel free to contact us and we will be happy to assist.

Email: disability@auckland.ac.nz

Top

University partners with the Blind Foundation


The University of Auckland and the Blind Foundation are partnering to develop braille maps of the University’s campuses.

 

Below are the the Blind Foundation's protocols for meeting and guiding people who are blind or vision impaired:

Top

Student disability - video


What's it's like to study at the University of Auckland as student with a disability?

Conjoint Arts and Law student Kieran Berry, who has a vision impairment, shows you the wide range of support and services in place at the University.

Read the video script here

Top

Services for Students


We offer a variety of practical services for students, from advice to note-taking, as well as information (see below). Your disability or impairment might be permanent or temporary – the key thing is that it affects your ability to study.

You will need to provide us with relevant medical or professional evidence, but we may be able to assist people with:

  • a mental health condition (students only)
  • a learning disability (students only)
  • impairment due to a medical condition
  • physical/mobility impairment
  • a head injury
  • a speech impairment
  • vision or hearing impairment
  • people who are blind or deaf
Top

Information for Students and Staff


Top

Faculty Disability Liaisons


Faculty Name Email
 Arts Chip Matthews c.matthews@auckland.ac.nz
 Business & Economics

Marianne Hill

Shelley Catlin

m.hill@auckland.ac.nz

s.catlin@auckland.ac.nz

 Engineering Nick Brewer n.brewer@auckland.ac.nz
 Medical & Health Science Kate Snow kate.snow@auckland.ac.nz
 Law Bernadette Carpenter
b.carpenter@auckland.ac.nz
  Suranjika Tittawella s.tittawella@auckland.ac.nz
 NICAI

Tamara Rickett

Phil Callaghan

t.rickett@auckland.ac.nz

p.callaghan@auckland.ac.nz

 Science

Glenda Haines

Hana Mata'u

g.haines@auckland.ac.nz

h.matau@auckland.ac.nz

 Education Rebekah Williams r.williams@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Contact Us


We have a service centre with dedicated staff in the ClockTower which is open from 8-4pm, but suggest making an appointment.

Equity Office

Room 036, Basement Level
ClockTower
22 Princes St
Auckland
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82936
Fax: +64 9 308 2354
Email: disability@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Did you find what you were looking for? Email us at equity@auckland.ac.nz

Back to Equity at the University