Student Disability Services

Our role is to support students with a range of impairments to succeed and excel within the University.

Special Examinations Accommodations


If you are a new student and have had special conditions while at school, or a returning student whose exam conditions have expired, please contact us as soon as possible.

The deadline for this process is the second week of semester, please get in quick as there may be delays in processing your application.

Equity Office

Room 036, Basement Level
ClockTower
22 Princes St
Auckland
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82936
Email: disability@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Scholarships and awards for students with disabilities


We have organised the Scholarships and Awards booklet into disability specific order.

We also have included scholarships and awards for school leavers.

In addition to disability specific scholarships we have added some general scholarships and awards and hope these may encourage you to find out more about any that may apply to you.

Good luck with your future applications!

Scholarships and awards for students with disabilities 2016 (ebook) thumbnail
Scholarships and awards for students with disabilities 2016 (ebook)
Top

Help for people with disabilities and/or who need assistance during an evacuation


The University is committed to the Health, Safety and Wellbeing of everyone on our campuses. During an emergency evacuation of a University building, you or someone around you may need assistance to evacuate the building.

Read more at Help for people with disabilities and/or who need assistance during an evacuation

Campus accessibility


The University of Auckland works to ensure that all of our campuses are accessible for people with impairments.  If you have any access concerns or challenges please feel free to contact us and we will be happy to assist.

Email: disability@auckland.ac.nz

Top

University partners with the Blind Foundation


The University of Auckland and the Blind Foundation are partnering to develop braille maps of the University’s campuses.

Read the Blind Foundation’s advice on How to help or communicate with someone who is blind or has low vision

Top

Services for Students


We offer a variety of practical services for students, from advice to note-taking, as well as information (see below). Your disability or impairment might be permanent or temporary – the key thing is that it affects your ability to study.

You will need to provide us with relevant medical or professional evidence, but we may be able to assist people with:

  • a mental health condition (students only)
  • a learning disability (students only)
  • impairment due to a medical condition
  • physical/mobility impairment
  • a head injury
  • a speech impairment
  • vision or hearing impairment
  • people who are blind or deaf
Top

Information for Students and Staff


Top

Faculty Disability Liaisons


Faculty Name Email
 Arts Chip Matthews c.matthews@auckland.ac.nz
 Business

Marianne Hill

Shelley Catlin

m.hill@auckland.ac.nz

s.catlin@auckland.ac.nz

Creative Arts and Industries

Tamara Rickett

Phil Callaghan

t.rickett@auckland.ac.nz

p.callaghan@auckland.ac.nz

 Education and Social Work
Rebekah Williams r.williams@auckland.ac.nz
 Engineering Tessa Sillifant t.sillifant@auckland.ac.nz
 Law

Bernadette Saysani

Suranjika Tittawella

b.saysani@auckland.ac.nz

s.tittawella@auckland.ac.nz

 Medical and Health Sciences Kate Snow kate.snow@auckland.ac.nz
 Science

Glenda Haines

Hana Mata'u

g.haines@auckland.ac.nz

h.matau@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Student Disability Services brochure


Find out how the Student Disability Services team can help you to make the most of your study at the University of Auckland.

Thumbnail of Student Disability Services brochure
Student Disability Services brochure (ebook)
Top

Contact Us


We have a service centre with dedicated staff in the ClockTower which is open from 8-4pm, but suggest making an appointment.

Equity Office

Room 036, Basement Level
ClockTower
22 Princes St
Auckland
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82936
Fax: +64 9 308 2354
Email: disability@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Did you find what you were looking for? Email us at equity@auckland.ac.nz.

Back to Equity at the University