2018 Blues Awards Winners

The 2018 Blues Awards ceremony was held on Friday 28 September at the Pavilion on Old Government House lawn. Seven major awards, and 116 Blues, were given to students who achieved in sports, the arts and culture, and service and leadership.

Major award winners

Māori Sportsperson of the Year

Madison Doar and Sam Harrison

Madison and Sam both represented New Zealand as members of the triumphant Black Sticks Women’s hockey team who took gold at 2018 Commonwealth Games. The Black Sticks created history by securing an impressive 4-1 defeat of Australia in the Gold Coast Games’ final to return home as champions. This is the first hockey gold medal New Zealand have won at the Commonwealth Games since the sport was introduced to the programme in 1998.

Sportsman of the Year Award

Riley Phillips-Harris

Riley put in an outstanding performance to take home a silver medal at the 2017 International Taekwon-do World Championships. Competing in the -78kg division, Riley fought off tough competition from the world’s best to secure second place. The biennial event is recognised as the premier event on the ITF calendar, attracting 84 teams from 49 countries.  

Sportswoman of the Year Award

Alisa Samountry

Alisa set a New Zealand and Oceania record at the 2018 World Classic Powerlifting Championship with an impressive lift of 190kg. Competing in the 72kg division junior class, Alisa fought off tough competition from the world’s best powerlifters to finish 2nd in the deadlift discipline and 6th overall. The championships is one of the biggest in the International Powerlifting Federation competitions, drawing a field of 750 lifters from 51 nations.

Award for Most Meritorious Performance (Sport)

Stacey Michelsen

Named as Captain of the Black Sticks Women’s hockey team for the 2018 Commonwealth Games, Stacey led her team to an historic gold at the Gold Coast competition. Shortlisted for International Hockey Federation’s women’s Player of the Year 2017 and with an impressive 250 caps to her name, Stacey was further honoured when she was chosen as New Zealand’s flag bearer at the closing ceremony. 

Award for Most Outstanding Contribution in Service & Leadership

Alexander Kuch

A passionate advocate for children’s rights and international adoptions, Alexander was named a Young New Zealander of the Year semi-finalist in 2018, received the Young Romanian of the Year award 2017/18 and was a Rotary Peace Fellowship finalist in 2017. As an ambassador and board director for ‘I’m Adopted’, Alex plays a key role in the non-for-profit organisation, which aims to re-connect people with their birth families and provide resources to help make the adoption process a positive experience.  

Award for Most Meritorious Performance in Arts and Cultural 

Siyu Sun

Siyu is a highly gifted pianist and has been recognised at a number of national and international competitions. Outstanding performances saw Siyu secure notable placings at a range of high-profile competitions including; first prize at the 2017 New Zealand National Concerto Competition, 2nd prize at the 2017 Wallace National Piano Competition and 4th prize at the Australian 2017 Lev Vlassenko Piano Competition.

Sports Winners

Name Activity
Aaron Wyllie
Track Cycling
Adam Bradley Handball
Alexandra Parker Volleyball
Alice Logan  Ultimate Frisbee
Alisa Samountry Powerlifting
Anna Crosby Ultimate Frisbee
Andrew Stewart Ultimate Frisbee
Benjamin Chong Ultimate Frisbee
Britney Ford Canoe Sprint
Chayse Martin-Roberts Archery
Christine Chen Fencing
Coral Huang Ultimate Frisbee
Daniel Keleghan Fencing
Dean Shu Table Tennis
Dylan Schmidt Trampolining
Eleanor Adviento Curling
Elise Salt Triathlon
Elizabeth Anton Football
Emily Cavell Archery
Emma Bavelaar Underwater Hockey
Emma Menzies Ultimate Frisbee
Grace Tobin Water Polo
George Muir Hockey
Ian Lim Ultimate Frisbee
Jackson Cropp Swimming
James Harwood Fencing
James Steyn Pole Vault
James Thwaite Canoe Slalom
Jenna Merrick Road Cycling
Jonathan Kumarich Rowing
Jordan Tan Ultimate Frisbee
Julia Gasston Lacrosse
Kaspar White-Harris Lacrosse
Kathryn Wright Surf Life Saving
Kim Thompson Canoe Sprint
Kristopher Middleton Touch Rugby
Lily Tootill Show Jumping
Logan Dunning Beck Yachting
Loran Parker Softball
Luke Maynard  Futsal 
Madison Doar Hockey
Marcia Zeng Ultimate Frisbee
Matthew Henry Inline Hockey
Maxine Cooper Futsal
Megan Lake Ultimate Frisbee
Meghan Drew Orienteering
Michael Dawson Athletics
Michaela Sokolich-Beatson Netball
Molly Swanson Triathlon
Nadia Olla Football
Nicholas Rowsby Karate
Nick Barakat Inline Hockey
Nick Henderson Fencing
Pippa Hayward Hockey
Reilly Polaschek Karate
Riley Phillips-Harris Taekwon-do and Jiujitsu
Sam Bennetts Korfball
Sam Harrison Hockey
Sam Kettle Triathlon
Samuel Hudson Archery
Sarah Morton Football
Scott Mckenzie Sailing
Shehnaz Hussain Powerlifting
Shelby Haarhoff Ultimate Frisbee
Shivanthi Anthony Futsal
Stacey Michelsen Hockey
Stephanie Shen Ultimate Frisbee
Struan Munro Caughey Archery
Takamasa Hoshiyama Rugby
Talesha Brooks Korfball
Tim Meyer-Smith Ultimate Frisbee
Tommy Hayes Orienteering
Tyla Grafas Lacrosse
Vicki Earl Triathlon

Arts and Cultural Winners

Name Activity
Alice Merrall Vocal
Amy Chun-I Chang Vocal
Annie Tong Architecture
Arthur Adams-Close  Vocal
Bernard Kim Barbershop Singing
Benjamin Feng Architecture
Bianca Wiki Davidson  Vocal
Carla Camilleri  Vocal
Chelsea Emily Akimano Numanga Vocal
Daniel Maier-Gant Debating
Denzel Panama  Vocal
Ella Ewen Vocal
Emma Cosgrave Dance
Henry Blackmore FIFA eSports
Jarvis Dams Opera
Kayla Grant Debating
Kirsten Strom Composing
Leo Jaffrey Vocal
Logan Moffat Painting
Louis Norton Pipe Band
Matthew Brown Bridge
Modi Deng Piano
Noah Rudd Oboe
Piper Whitehead Debating
Siyu Sun Piano
Steven Barker Robotics
Ta-Hee Kim Cello
Te Ohorere Williams  Vocal
Timothy Paterson-Catto Pipe Band
Thomas Hundarto Architecture
Thomas Song

Service and Leadership Awards

Alexander Kuch
Brontë Page
Calum McInnes
Chutchaya Siriwattakanon
Gemma Stacey-Harvey
Jibi Kunnethedam
Julia Plank
Megan de Lambert
Xavier Muao Breed
Yobithan Rajaratnam