Google Changes - Alumni and former staff

Guidance on the Google GSuite changes for former staff and alumni

Follow the instructions below based on what your affiliation used to be.

I'm an alum/graduate and was not a researcher, academic or senior manager

What do I need to do?

You will need to transfer off any files (including Google Photos,Google Docs, Sheets and Slides) that you don't want automatically deleted. To help us, please also delete any files that are no longer required. Tidying up and deleting old email (particularly those with attachments) will also be helpful.

When do I need to have this done by?

We will be blocking access to your files from 1st December 2022. We will then automatically delete your files - but this will be at least 3 months after we block your access.

Note that we will also focus targeted communications and storage limits on those using the largest storage earlier in 2022 to ensure we meet this deadline.

How do I do move my files?

Move from the University Google Drive

I used to be a researcher, academic or senior manager

Do you still have files that will be useful to the University?

It is important that files that were created as part of your University employment and still hold value for the University are not lost. 

You should share any files that fit that criteria with an existing staff member. How to transfer ownership of files.

If there are large number of files that need to be retained by the University and are in your Google Drive please email the project team for assistance using this link.

What do I need to do for other files?

You will need to transfer off any files (including Google Photos, Google Docs, Sheets and Slides) that you don't want deleted. To help us, please also delete any files that are no longer required. Tidying up and deleting old email (particularly those with attachments) will also be helpful.

If you are still sharing files from your personal Google Drive that are used by others at the University then you need to transfer ownership to someone still at the University. How to transfer ownership of files.

When do I need to have this done by?

We will be blocking access to your files from 1st December 2022. We will then automatically delete your files - but this will be at least 3 months after we block your access. 

Note that we will also focus targeted communications and storage limits on those using the largest storage earlier in 2022 to ensure we meet this deadline.

How do I move my files?

Move from the University Google Drive

I used to be another type of staff member

What do I need to do?

You will need to transfer off any files (including Google Photos, Google Docs, Sheets and Slides) that you don't want deleted. To help us, please also delete any files that are no longer required. Tidying up and deleting old email (particularly those with attachments) will also be helpful.

If you are still sharing files from your personal Google Drive that are used by others at the University then you need to transfer ownership to someone still at the University. How to transfer ownership of files.

When do I need to have this done by?

We will be blocking access to your files from 1st December 2022. We will then automatically delete your files - but this will be at least 3 months after we block your access.

Note that we will also focus targeted communications and storage limits on those using the largest storage earlier in 2022 to ensure we meet this deadline.

How do I move my files?

Move from the University Google Drive

Frequently Asked Questions

I was told that I would be able to keep my Google Drive forever

This was always conditional on Google maintaining their previous policy of offering an unlimited free storage service to the University. Google have changed this policy which has forced the University to have to change our offering.

I have files that are important to me and need to be kept

If you have files that were produced during your affiliation with the University and have ongoing value to the University then the ownership should be transferred to a current staff member. Transferring ownership of files.

If the files are important to you, but have limited value to the University then you will need to move them to a storage service that you have arranged and paid for. We will not be providing ongoing storage in Google Drive or Google Photos to any former staff or alumni.

What if I don't do anything?

Access to your files will be blocked from 1st December 2022 and then automatically deleted at least 3 months later.

Does this also mean my Google Photos have to go?

Yes, you will also need to remove Google Photos. For instructions on how to do this: Move Google Photos

Why can't you just move my files to my new location?

  1. To do this we would need access to your new private storage location and it's password, which breaches privacy
  2. There are over 261,000 Google accounts in the University, which makes doing this as a managed migration unfeasible
  3. The only person who can identify what files are rubbish and what are required is you

Why have I received an email with different dates?

Your Google Drive limit might be reduced down in steps to the required 1GB maximum over a period of time. If you are in this situation, you will receive specific communications stating the stepped limits and that dates that you need to meet these limits by.

To allow us to meet the deadline we will be targetting people who have the very largest storage. They will need to reduce their storage to a manageable level before the middle of 2022.  We will communicate directly with them. They will also still be blocked and their files deleted to the same timeline above.

Question not answered above?

Contact the project team on googlechanges@auckland.ac.nz