Management team


The University's governing body is Council. It comprises lay, staff and student members. Council is the governing body through which the University acts. It controls the affairs, concerns and property of the University. Council is authorised by legislation to act in the ways best calculated to promote the interests of the University.

Council is chaired by the Chancellor, who is elected from the lay members of Council. The Deputy to the Chancellor is the Pro-Chancellor.

See current Council Membership List, Terms of Reference, Constitution of Council, Schedule of Council Meetings and committees reporting to Council.

Office of the Vice-Chancellor

Professor Dawn Freshwater is the Vice-Chancellor. She is the head of the University: its chief academic and administrative officer and the employer of all staff. Professor Freshwater is responsible for providing academic leadership along with effective management, and for leading strategic planning and directing resource allocation.
The Office of the Vice-Chancellor, located in the ClockTower, 22 Princes Street, is the administrative headquarters for the University.

Deputy Vice-Chancellors

Professor John Morrow is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), responsible for academic planning, maintaining academic standards, and enhancing the academic profile of the University nationally and internationally.

Professor Jim Metson is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), responsible for assisting and advising the Vice-Chancellor and University Council on research policy, research management and performance.

Professor Jenny Dixon is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Strategic Engagement), responsible for ensuring that the University develops, maintains and grows the key national and international relationships that will enhance and enable its ability to perform as a leading University.

Adrienne Cleland is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Operations) and Registrar, responsible for Finance, IT, Property, Communications & Marketing, Academic & Shared Services, Organisational Performance, Planning & Information, Campus Life, Legal and Risk functions.  

Pro Vice-Chancellors

Professor Cindy Kiro (Ngā Puhi, Ngāti Kahu, Ngāti Hine) is the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Māori). She has responsibility for developing a positive Māori profile in the University and assisting in the development of Māori programmes in liaison with the Vice-Chancellor, Māori staff, students and the community.

Associate Professor Toeolesulusulu Damon Salesa (Satapuala and Falealupo, Samoa) is the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Pacific). He has a responsibility for developing a positive Pacific profile in the University  and assisting in the development of Pacific programmes in liaison with the Vice-Chancellor, Pacific staff, students and the community.

Prue Toft is the acting Pro Vice-Chancellor (Equity). She leads the Equity Office | Te Ara Tautika and has responsibility for advising, monitoring, reporting, developing policies and programmes on equity in education and employment. She works in collaboration with other sectors of the University and particularly in partnership with the Pro Vice-Chancellors Māori and Pacific.

Senior Leadership Team

The University’s Senior Leadership Team (SLT) is an advisory group to the Vice-Chancellor. It is normally chaired by the Vice-Chancellor and comprises the Deputy Vice-Chancellors, Pro Vice-Chancellors, Deans and Directors of the major service divisions. The SLT normally meets weekly to consider strategy, policy and current projects and issues, and act as a sounding board for the Vice-Chancellor.

University staff can read more about the Senior Leadership Team on the Staff Intranet.